The Triangle of Career Happiness

Niko Schröer
1 min readJan 9, 2023

--

If you want to make significant career progress in 2023, start by understanding where you stand.

For the past 10 years, I’ve used this straight forward framework:

A triangle of my role, people I worked with and the compensation.

I simply analyse if I am happy or not from these 3 angles:

  1. Role. Do I like the work that I do? Am I learning? Can I see where it will take me in 12 or 24 months?
  2. People. Do I like the people I work with? Do they inspire me? Do I look forward to showing up to work every day?
  3. Money. Does the compensation allow me to live the lifestyle I desire?

Try it yourself, it takes less than 1 minute.

> Happy in all 3 areas? Nice, keep pushing.

> Happy in 2 (eg. challenging job, inspiring team, bad comp)? Use it as a starting point to consider your options.

> Happy in 1 (eg. awesome team, but boring job & underpaid)? Getting out of there asap should be your top priority.

--

--

Niko Schröer

Passionate about principles, frameworks and learnings to grow your individual super powers and advance your career in tech!