5 Tricks To Read More Books In 2023

Nikolai Shukhov
3 min readDec 15, 2022

Another year over, a lot of pages turned.

Three years ago, during the Covid-19 pandemic, I rediscovered the joy of reading.

Every year since then, I have set myself the challenge of reaching 52 books annually. A simple one-book-a-week commitment. Or so it would seem… For the third year in a row, I have failed to reach my goal.

However, 42 books in 2022 isn’t a bad result.

I have a few rules about what I include when I count my books.

  1. I only count books I have read cover to cover.
  2. I do not differentiate between print, digital, or audio formats.
  3. I don’t count research articles, business cases, or other course materials.

These are my rules for myself. I prioritize reading what interests me, and the hours I read vary according to how demanding other parts of my life are. I challenge you to take up reading in a way that suits you best.

Eventually, I will achieve 52 books in a year. Until then, I am just enjoying the journey.

Now, I want to share with you 5 tricks I have learned to help myself stay committed to my reading and enjoy the process:

  1. Read books that interest you the most at the moment.

--

--

Nikolai Shukhov

A bibliophile from Europe. I would love to write a book, but I fear it will reveal I am not as smart or reflective as think I am.