An ode to design from a first-generation immigrant:

Nikol Safronova
3 min readJan 31, 2019

--

Moving from my small hometown of Novorossiysk, Russia at the age of 7, to the metropolitan city of Chicago, Illinois, was a perilous journey. Facing a language barrier, an unfamiliar culture and environment, my family was ill-prepared to move halfway across the world and start our lives over. With time we overcame the language barrier and assimilated ourselves into America, but the system that was designed for the success of natives rather than immigrants constantly impeded us from moving up the socioeconomic ladder. Any time we tried to go to the doctor, we were told we needed to pay for healthcare. Any time my parents would try to apply for jobs, they were told they needed connections and a college degree. The system wasn’t inclusive and wasn’t created with the intention of understanding the daily problems immigrants face in a country of traditions.

Being a first-generation student and applying to universities also came with its set of challenges. Whenever I tried to find relevant information on how to apply for financial aid or make my college application stand out, I was overwhelmed with irrelevant details and advertisements for services I needed to pay for just to be on the same playing field as other applicants. The overbearing means of attaining advice and resources in a sea of blog posts, college forums, and videos weren’t designed with the goal of simplifying the college application process for students who are already put at a disadvantage.

After experiencing the difficulties I faced to get to where I am today, I realized that I want to create meaningful products that make people’s lives easier, specifically immigrants and first-generation students. I dream of designing experiences and things that positively impact the lives of those who struggle to achieve the same standard of living as people who were born in this country. I want to build systems that empower first generations students and make it simpler for them to reach their goals, like a universal database for college applications and financial aid. I want to make things that allow immigrants to access the same connections and resources that Americans have, such as a mobile application that pairs immigrants with natives to gain mentorship and advice on housing, jobs, education and healthcare.

Ultimately, I believe that design isn’t all about making things look pretty. It’s about organization and taking into account the human using the product. Whether it be as complex as the immigration system or as simple using a toothbrush, design is all around us. It is every item that we use and every experience that we have. By taking into account a person’s emotions or attitudes towards a product, we can design systems and objects that have a lasting value and are a combination of aesthetics and inspiration, backed by scientific knowledge and research.

--

--