A-Z of Emotions: Backstory

Nilabjo (nee-laab-jo)
2 min readJan 6, 2018

--

Photo: Nilabjo Banerjee

I am a closeted introvert. Even though my general demeanour and the kind of jobs that I have had (or would love to have) indicate extroversion, I am a fairly reticent person. I don’t like talking about myself all that much. Plus, growing up in South Asian culture meant learning to supress emotions as showing emotions equals personal inadequacy. Add to that societal archetypes about ‘real men don’t talk about their feelings’, and I hope you can understand my inhibitive state of mind.

But, just because I don’t like talking about them, doesn’t mean I don’t have them: feelings. I am ready to talk about them now. Sort of. Today, marks the beginning of a 26-day long project, called, ‘A-Z of Emotions’, where I will write about personal anecdotes about feelings based on the letters of the alphabet. The project is a lead-up to Bell Let’s Talk Day on January 31 2018. On this day, Bell, a Canadian telecommunication giant, donates 5 cents from interaction through various channels such as Twitter, text, etc to mental health causes. On top of the millions raised every year, the day serves as an important reminder that being open about your state of mind isn’t a sign of weakness. Instead, it is a vital part of self-care.

This year, I will be doing my part.

Interested in following along?

Kindly hit the ‘Follow’ button above! Tap the 👏 button below! :)

--

--

Nilabjo (nee-laab-jo)

Unashamed love for 90s boybands. I am also trying to make ‘cool beans’ and ‘awesomesauce’ cool again. Writing is my catharsis.