“Tech, Murder, and Intrigue: Examining ‘A Murder at the End of the World”

Nilufer Ozmekik
4 min readNov 17, 2023
The official poster for FX’s “A Murder at the End of the World”

I don’t know if you’re one of the guys who wanted to hurl a chair at their TV upon hearing the cancellation news of “O.A.” and started a petition addressed to Netflix to show support for the brilliance of the show, which deserved a second chance and one more season to wrap things up. I was actually one of them, but it didn’t work exactly as I had hoped. Naturally, when I heard the news that the creators and masterminds of “O.A.,” Brit Marling and Zal Batmanglij, teamed up for a claustrophobic, Christie-an kind of murder mystery, casting rising star Emma Corrin, I high-fived myself and screamed, “Yes!”

I’ve already watched two episodes with high expectations. It passed the class with flying colors in the directorial, cinematographic, and acting departments, but I wish the writing department were less boring and a little less aimless, and the execution of the entire mystery would be much better. Why didn’t I enjoy this series as much as I wished, even though I’m addicted to locked room murder mysteries and claustrophobic psychological thrillers smartly blended with AI technology? I will explain my reasons below.

--

--

Nilufer Ozmekik

New York Winter Film Awards judge since 2017, screenwriter for TV series and international award-winning feature films, most popular reviewer of Goodreads..