Suggest installing Ubuntu on your Asus VivoBook.

Nimesha Jinarajadasa
Nerd For Tech
Published in
3 min readMay 24, 2020

Recently, i was searching for a very light weight, portable, tiny laptop with longer battery life to surf internet, to do my part time works and occasionally to watch a film 😇. The only option was going for a Asus Vivobook. Let me go through the specs.

Smaller than A4 sheet of paper

11.6 inch screen

This is what it made me to buy this laptop. I really like its cute look and portability which makes my simple works more easier. Actually the size is smaller than A4 sheet of paper. 😂

Less than 1Kg

Asus Vivobook weights around 950g. Simply you can take it with you anywhere. When you hold it, you can feel that how much light weight it is.

Nearly 10 hrs of battery life

Next biggest thing i was expecting is having better battery life. This really met my expectations by having around 10hrs of on time battery life. It is really easy to do your works at anywhere without always plugging laptop to your charger and stuck in one place at your home.

180° Hinge

One of the coolest feature in Vivobook is, it can be laid flat on the table. Actually , It can be used as a Notebook on your table.

180° Hinge

So, Asus Vivobook was my go to machine. Since it has 4gb of ram and Intel Quad-core processor, this might not be better one to run docker and open Visual Studio Code. :D That is why i told you, my expectation was to having a real small, portable, longer battery life and to do my part time works which are not much related to Programming or high memory consuming stuff.

Asus Vivobook comes with Windows 10 pre-installed. After using this for few months, what i feel was, if i could speedup the machine little more, it would be really great. Ubuntu came into my mind. We all know Ubuntu is lightweight and gives better performance than windows OS. I gave a try today and results were really good. I got huge improvement on vivobook now. While having portable, tiny, and better battery , now i got really good performance with Ubuntu 20.04. :)

I was installing latest Ubuntu version which is 20.04. I would say it looks really cool. I got dual boot along with windows 10. You can follow simple steps to install Ubuntu 20.04 along with windows 10.

  1. Download Ubuntu .iso ( image file ) from here.
  2. Create bootable USB drive using Universal USB Installer ( in windows machine ) .
  3. Boot your Asus Vivobook from USB ( for asus its ‘esc’ to enter to Boot menu while startup ) .
  4. You can try the ubuntu first with try now option and then you can install if you are happy with the experience.
  5. make sure you manually created root(/) space, home ( /home) space, and swap area if you have low memory in your machine. i have created swap area in my vivobook by adding twice of the size of my RAM.
  6. That’s all. you got a nice vivobook with Ubuntu. Really cool.
Ubuntu 20.04 Installation in Asus Vivobook

Try it out if you are using Asus Vivobook and need some more performance on your machine. Now i can even do some programming stuff too. :)

--

--

Nimesha Jinarajadasa
Nerd For Tech

DevOps Engineer & Advocate @ KodeKloud(Singapore) | Former Senior Software Engineer @ IFS R&D Technology | Top Rated Plus Freelancer @Upwork | Moratuwa Uni Alum