Photo By: Cottonbro Studio

Broken Streaks, No More: How the 2-Day Rule Can Transform Your Consistency and Performance

Mastering Consistency

Nimish Jalan
2 min readMay 7, 2023

--

Let’s look at a scenario.

It’s December 20th and you decide to take up a 30-day challenge and show up at the gym starting January 1.

You go to the gym every day for 20 days. But you miss the 21st day because your boss calls an emergency meeting.

What happens next? Do you go back to the gym the next day or do you get overwhelmed for failing a personal commitment and the 30-day challenge no longer holds any meaning for you?

I don’t know you and cannot predict what you’d do in such a situation.

If it were me — I would be devastated, get overwhelmed and stop participating in the challenge. Because…

  • I’d feel like a loser.
  • I’d let my emotions take over.
  • I’d be grieving for failing the challenge.
  • I’d remind myself of all my past failures.
  • I’d feel as though all my progress is lost.

Missing a day of practice was very hard to accept. As you can see, I was impatient, unreasonable, and lacked proper systems.

This is when I came across the 2-day rule. It helped me…

  • Normalize broken streaks.
  • Reduce pressure.
  • Create systems that served me.
  • Eliminate negative self-talk.

For me, a broken streak threw me off my game and was the biggest reason for poor consistency. While it is a simplified version and there are sever other factors that need to come together.

I am not going into detail since they are fairly straightforward👇🏾

  • Putting in systems that are unique to you.
  • Understanding why you are doing what you are doing.
  • Reminding yourself why you started in the first place.
  • Understanding that failure is imminent and how to bounce back from it.
  • Reducing negative chatter.
  • Committing to a minimum time frame like 6–12 months.

I believe once you truly want something you’d give your 100%.

Often we don’t know what we want and try imitating other people hoping to replicate their success. Spend some time thinking about what’s important and what makes your life fulfilling. Once you do, you’d be on the path to consistency.

If you enjoyed this article leave a comment or clap to show this to more people.

--

--

Nimish Jalan

Prioritizing writing, experiments, failure and growth. Committed to write 365 days straight! Come say hi :)