Image Credit: Kelly Sikkema

The Tim Ferriss Show 100-Day Challenge: An Experiment

On Finding Inspiration, Transforming Life and Boosting Knowledge

Nimish Jalan
2 min readApr 17, 2023

--

Ever heard of the Tim Ferris Show?

In my opinion, it is one of the best podcasts. So far I’ve probably listened to 3 full episodes.

Even though it has been widely interesting, educative and fun I’ve always struggled to start a new episode because of its length.

I’ve had to overcome limiting thoughts about not having the ability to listen for so long.

On my morning walk today, I had an idea I want to experiment with.

I am going to listen to the Tim Ferris show every day for 100 days straight and share my learnings publicly.

Why am I doing this?

For the past few months, I have been listening to different podcasts with unbelievable consistency. I’ve struggled to listen for as little as 30 minutes a day.

I’ve struggled because I didn’t have a proper plan. OR maybe because I had too many options to choose from.

With this experiment, I want to eliminate the uncertainty and number of choices I have so as to turn this into a consistent habit.

My Expectations

  1. What can I learn by listening to the podcast for 100 days straight?
  2. Does it make me smarter?
  3. Does it make my conversations interesting?
  4. Can I use these learnings in different aspects of life such as work, relationships, etc
  5. Will listening consistently to a podcast change me? How?
  6. Will it improve my content game?
  7. Will it help me fasten my content creation?
  8. The type of content I’ll be able to produce.
  9. Will content creation become easier?
  10. How many episodes, minutes and experts do I end up listening to in 100 days?
  11. Personally, I find podcasts a more effective learning tool compared to books. I want to see if this is a good approach to learning and if others should do it.
  12. What kind of a dent to the number of episodes, if any can I make in 100 days?
  13. Understand how expert opinion stacks. If predictions made by brilliant minds have come true.
  14. Challenge myself to organize all the information. Organization has always been my Achilles heel.
  15. Collect gems, stories and anecdotes shared on the podcast. Compress and present them in a meaningful way.
  16. Help high school students or young adults via this knowledge.
  17. Hold myself accountable by announcing my intentions publicly and measuring the number of missed days.

That’s all for now.

If you like/dislike this idea and if there are other outcomes that you’d like me to measure please share your thoughts in the comments.

--

--

Nimish Jalan

Prioritizing writing, experiments, failure and growth. Committed to write 365 days straight! Come say hi :)