BTS-My Inspiration

Nimra Khalid
8 min readApr 19, 2019

--

KPOP Idol: Group-BTS

I am writing about,

How BTS Inspires Me? & How BTS is so inspiring to many people?

I discovered BTS in 2017.

I get to know about them during my summer vacations, one of my best friends Natasha introduced them to me and it was at a time when I felt like I knew who I was and what my ideals, beliefs and attitude towards everything was. I felt like I knew what hard work, struggle, success, gratitude was. But watching BTS challenged me to question my values. I watched these seven boys till they became worldwide legends. Honestly , I will not say that my life changed and all stuff but I am thinking about how inspiring these guys really are, how can I learn a lot from them just if I am willing to apply those things in my life. So I think I can’t tell you how they motivated me, which qualities of them can motivate others just if someone is willing to learn. They practice 10 hours a day, work in that free time to produce and compose their music keeping in mind their level of influence and actually thinking about what sort of messages they want to send out. When there are any hiccups like an injury, a small mistake while performing they beat themselves up for disappointing their fans. BTS inspired me to find my dream, and to work hard towards it relentlessly whether or not success is rewarding me. They literally lived in a single room but smile over those difficult times and today they live in one of the most premier places in all of South Korea and travel the world first class. That’s more than enough motivation to never get deterred from trying your best. The kind of issues they chose to address as artists says a lot about the kind of people they are. And the most important thing they taught me to love myself and embracing my youth.

In September 2017, BTS launched their new album series titled Love Yourself. This series was dedicated to telling the story of the process of loving yourself. It all starts with the euphoric feeling of loving someone else, to the loneliness you feel when they leave, and ends with the realization that you are the only person that matters the most in your life. They taught me that no matter in what shape you are, what skin color you have, what height you have, just work hard to achieve your goals and love yourself.

if you can’t love yourself then you can’t even love others.

BTS’s Album Love Yourself-Series(Her, Tear & Answer)

For the majority of my life, I hated myself. I was so scared of what people thought of me, so I conceded into their idea of who they thought I was. They thought I was smart, so that’s who I became. I neglected to do things I wanted to do in order to uphold this image of what people painted me to be. I hated myself for doing things because of other people’s expectation of me. For my whole life, I lived to make other people happy, but that never made me happy. Back then I couldn’t bear criticism, I was really short tempered, and I spoke without thinking (which I still do). Knowing about their experiences, both positive and negative, they have really strengthened me. Whenever something bad or irritating happened ,I thought no worries, I still have YouTube, and in it BTS. They made me happy, that whatever bad may happen to you, you could still bring out the small positive aspects. They taught me that,

Imperfection is uniqueness and uniqueness is perfection.

No matter what others think, you are yourself and just the way you are-BTS.

These albums comforted me by showing me that it is okay to be the person who I want to be. Most importantly, it made me realize that I should I love myself enough to allow myself to be happy. The Love Yourself series reflected all the things I was struggling with. It was hard to find value in myself and to think of myself as someone worthy of happiness. There were so many moments in my life where I felt alone trying to battle this feeling of self-hatred. When BTS came out with this Love Yourself series, I finally felt like somebody understood me. BTS gave me a reason to love myself. Of course, I’m still learning to love myself, but lately, more often than not, I have this overwhelming feeling of love for who I am and the person I’m trying to be.

Don’t forget your worth-BTS.

I’d share what BTS’s each member has taught me,

RM- Kim-Namjoon, has taught me to be a strong loving person and a leader and to support my family & friends. He taught me to be confident and comical and also to be loyal.

RM-Kim Namjoon

Jin-Kim Seokjin, taught me to always be loving and kind and to take care of those who you love and who love you because it is so rewarding. He also taught me to love how I look unconditionally because that’s more important than other people loving how you look.

Jin-Kim Seokjin

Suga-Min Yoongi, taught me to follow my dreams and pursue greatness no matter how long it takes or how many people don’t support you. He taught me to be confident in myself and to always keep going as there is always light at the end.

Suga-Min Yoongi

J-Hope-Jung Hoseok, taught me to always be optimistic and fun loving and energetic even if you don’t particularly feel happy because it will always help others. He taught me to pursue my personal dreams and also that sacrifice and generosity are amazing things.

J-Hope-Jung Hoseok

Jimin-Park Jimin, taught me to be proud of who I am and to always love myself unconditionally. I know he has had self esteem issues and body issues and some people have told him he needs to diet but through all this he has taught me I don’t need to meet everyone’s expectations of me, I only need to be what I want to be and I only need to satisfy myself. He has taught me to stay above the haters and still be gracious.

Jimin-Park Jimin

V-Kim Taehyung, taught me don’t be afraid to be weird and over the top and excitable all the time as those who love you will accept you. He has taught me to be respectful to both young and old and he has taught me it’s okay to be a child at heart. He had taught me how important family is and that they shouldn’t be taken for granted. He has also taught me it’s okay to show your emotions to the people you love and care about. Taehyung has taught me that it doesn’t matter where you come from you can still be amazing if you work for it.

V-Kim Taehyung

Jungkook-Jeon Jeongguk, has taught me to always be true to myself and not to listen to what others want to say against you. He has taught me to be happy and kind and respectful of those around me. He has taught me to stay grounded and also not to forget how education is important. The fact that he managed to be a K-pop star and graduate high school with really good grades is amazing.

Jungkook-Jeon Jeongguk

One thing of the many things that made me become a fan was because of how BTS songs seemed to draw me in and just heal my soul in general and make me want to be become a better person. Their songs inspired & heal me and taught to love myself fully, deeply, honestly, faithfully and gloriously.

Their debut song No More Dream, still one of the most inspiring I have come across. It talks about how parents/older people try to force dreams on the younger generation even when they have none yet. BTS says its okay to not have dreams now, It’ll come to you some day.

Become the main subject of your life that has always been suppressed.

Young Forever is about with hope and dreams, youth is always alive.

Even if I fall and hurt myself I’ll still keep running towards my dreams.

Not Today, for me it says, even though you know you’re gonna lose at the end, try your hardest now to you reach the end.

We’re extra but still part of this world.

Magic Shop, this is one of my favorite songs. This is a healing song. The kind that makes you search in yourself for that magic shop to drink warm tea and look at milky way and think I’m really going to be okay.

You’ll be alright, this is a magic shop.

Paradise, Don’t run without knowing where you’re going means don’t try to follow dreams when you don’t have them yet. Even when everyone says life is a race and we all have to run it, you’re free to stop because you’re already in paradise.

Its alright to stop. You don’t need to run without knowing why.

And this is how BTS have affected me and helped me grow, I am still trying to accept and love myself fully, deeply, honestly, faithfully & gloriously and I am an Army (BTS name their fans, ARMY stands for Adorable Representative MC for Youth, but for BTS, the ARMY they help, protect and support them. ARMY literally means people who stand against and up for what is right for them).

--

--