Rust and crate of wishes for 2018

Nabeel Ali Memon
1 min readJan 13, 2018

--

I appreciate the great community effort being fostered by Mozilla’s Rust team and the cool Rust community outside that have been helpful in my own endeavor on cracking Rust. I’ve developed random stuff in different languages and platforms and haven’t seen a language that can scale like Rust (from OS kernel and decentralized systems to database systems to web server to web browser to desktop UI and robotics and a lot more). But OTOH, I also haven’t tried to *crack* a language more than once and step aside to gather some confidence to try again. If it wasn’t for my existing programming experience, I would’ve probably taken a lot more before I’d be able to write something useful in Rust.

Also, currently, there’s a lack of various libraries/crates that’d otherwise welcome newbies to try out Rust and see how cool is that.

So here’s my wish-list for Rust in 2018:

  1. Make Rust easy-to-digest for newbies. Rust’s NLL (non-lexical lifetime) is a great step. I think free online courses at Udacity, Coursera or EdX can help there. Mozilla should help sponsor that.
  2. The core team should participate in prioritizing and implementing quality crates for productivity needs. Small things like file loggers with rotation, connectors and drivers for databases/redis/rabbitmq/kafka/mongodb, standard HTTP/REST server and other crates are necessary in various technology stacks and their absence can hinder newbies.

I wish all of you a peaceful and productive year and more Rust adoption ahead. Tweet @nimtiazm and let me know your thoughts.

--

--