Lara Croft: Tomb Raider (2001)

NinjaDuckmovieclub
2 min readMay 9, 2023

--

8th May 2023

Oh my. This was a hard one to watch. I’ve never been the biggest Tomb Raider fan in the world. I have played the games on both the Playstation and the PSP back in the day. It was good but nothing that I really got into too much. This was just a good tie in the games but I don’t think it hits the right notes at all. I’m not sure what happened with action movies in the late 90’s/early 00’s. I think it has something thatI have mentioned before, The Matrix Effect. You know the score, some crazy thumbing dance music with loads of cut shots which makes it look good. The whole movie looks really cheap and I have no idea why this looks so bad. It could almost be a poor TV movie. Having said that, Jolie is great in the main role of Lara Croft, and you can nearly see that she was having fun doing the whole film. A very young looking Daniel Craig turns up and does what he can with the poorly written role for him. The only other thing I can say about this one, whoever thought that Jon Voight could play Jolie’s father is terrible terrible casting.

--

--

NinjaDuckmovieclub
0 Followers

Not a Ninja, Not a Duck but 100% A man in his 40’s with a passion for movies and pop culture.