The last goodbye — Fiction Story

Nitin Dangwal
P.S. I Love You
Published in
5 min readApr 12, 2018

--

Photo by Linda Xu on Unsplash

I wasn’t planning to leave the house. I was too sleepy to do that. But as I was walking Rhea outside the apartment, she came close to me and planted a kiss on my cheek. Then she whispered, “Won’t you come down with me?” Her voice soft as a summer breeze.

For some reason, I was taken aback by the kiss. It was surprising considering we had slept together the last night. I shouldn’t have felt like that. I should have felt at ease. But I didn’t. Maybe because it was the first time I had slept with someone whom I didn’t love. It was like being washed over by a sea wave and left dried after that. A feeling of strange void.

“Won’t you?” She asked again, breaking my chain of thoughts. Usually, I would have said no. I’m rude like that. I felt obliged to say yes. And I said that. But it felt forced and unnatural. Things had changed between us. She had changed.

I went back to the bedroom and searched for a T-Shirt to slip into. Then I spent a few moments searching for the key which I had thrown on the table and forgotten. When I returned she was already standing outside the door, humming an old Bach melody, lost in some thoughts which I could never guess.

In the elevator, she stood closer to me than usual. Her head was leaning on my shoulders, her gaze towards at some point on the floor. I didn’t realize I was breathing…

--

--

Nitin Dangwal
P.S. I Love You

Writing stories, poems and a little bit of everything about life