Life Saver: 3 screen app idea

Nithesh Raaj
2 min readJun 12, 2017

--

In January 2017 I had taken Introduction to Modern Application Development MOOC course offered by NPTEL in partnership with Hasura. It is a very unique course that I recommend for everyone. Hasura offered internship for the toppers of that course, and I’m excited to be a part of it.

As a part of the internship we are required to create an app using the hasura platform. In order to be able to complete the app in 2 months, we were restricted to a 3 screen MVP.

I started looking for problems around me, which I can solve with an app. Two ideas came to my mind: a file sharing app through which we can share files to individuals or groups and an app to request emergency services and track their arrival.

After some thought about the two ideas, I went ahead with the latter. There are many file sharing apps that are already available, but there are no apps available to request and track emergency services.

At present when we need any emergency service we dial 100/102/108 or some other number and request the service we need. After which we don’t know how long it will take for them to arrive or even worse, if someone is even coming? Also we might not know our current location accurately and that adds further delay.

To solve this problem I am planning to make an app through which the user can request the required emergency service like ambulance, fire service or the police. Once they make a request, their location is obtained and the nearest service provider is alerted. Once the service provider accepts the request, the user gets the ETA and can track the service provider in real time.

Next post:

--

--