Nithya Sri
6 min readJun 1, 2023

--

The Art and Joy of Gardening: Cultivating Nature’s Beauty

Gardening is like having a special connection with nature. It doesn’t matter if you have a big garden or just a small space like a balcony, you can still create your own garden. It’s a really fun and satisfying activity that brings happiness and a sense of meaning to your life. In this blog, we will talk about gardening and why it’s so great. We will also share some easy tips to help you start your own garden. So, get ready to discover the magic of gardening and how it can make your life more wonderful.

My love for gardening began 11 years ago when my parents bought a piece of land to build our new house. I was so excited to move from our old house to the new one. I was only 13 years old at that time. I have fond memories of going with my mother to water the coconut trees on our land while our house was being built. During that time, I also planted some mango, guava, and jackfruit plants, which have now grown into big trees.

Gardening is not only about making your surroundings look pretty but also about feeling happy and peaceful. It teaches us patience, resilience, and helps us connect with nature. As I started gardening in my house 11 years ago, now we can feel a natural essense in our surroundings.

In our old house, where my extended family lived together, we had a really big mango tree. It was enormous and gave us lots of delicious mangoes. One day, our grandfather wanted to cut down that tree. I felt really sad because it was the tree where my friends and I used to swing and play. Fortunately, the tree is still standing in that spot, and I’m really happy about it.

I love collecting seeds and plants from nurseries and other places. Whenever I see a new flower or plant, I get really curious and excited. It’s like a hobby for me to gather different kinds of seeds and plants, and I enjoy watching them grow and bloom. It’s always fun to discover new varieties and add them to my collection. It’s like creating my own little garden of wonders, filled with diverse colors and shapes. Collecting seeds and plants allows me to constantly learn and discover new species, nurturing my passion for nature and its endless beauty.

During my school days, on Environment Day, we used to receive plants as a special gift. I would bring two plants home to plant in our garden. Now, I’m delighted to see that those plants have grown into big trees. Every morning and evening, we make sure to water our plants and trees. Either my mother or I take turns to water them. Sometimes, we water the plants together while chatting and also add fertilizer to help them grow. Having a garden around my house not only makes it look beautiful but also provides a peaceful place for me to relax, recharge, and find comfort in the beauty of nature.

The tree I planted 11 years ago is called a golden shower tree. It’s a special tree because it produces beautiful yellow flowers. In Hindu beliefs, these flowers are seen as a way to worship and show respect to Lord Krishna, a beloved deity. People consider it a blessing to have this tree because it is associated with spirituality and divine connections. Every time I see the tree blossoming with its yellow flowers, it reminds me of the significance it holds and fills my heart with joy and gratitude.

In my house, we have created a small vegetable garden where we grow various types of vegetables. It’s like having our own little farm right in our surroundings. We have plants like tomatoes, chillies, drumsticks, pumpkins, and lemons growing abundantly. The best thing about having these vegetable plants at home is that we can enjoy fresh and healthy produce without having to rely on buying them from the market. It feels great to have direct access to organic vegetables just a few steps away from our doorstep. Taking care of the plants has become a part of our daily routine, and we find joy in watering them, removing any unwanted weeds, and giving them the love and care they need to flourish. Witnessing their growth and seeing the fruits of our labor is incredibly satisfying. Plus, being able to harvest and enjoy these homegrown vegetables in our meals adds an extra level of happiness and satisfaction.

In gardening, I have learned that good things take time. It’s like waiting patiently for something exciting to happen. I plant the seeds or small plants and take care of them, but it takes a while before I see the results. Sometimes, the plants face difficult situations like too much heat or not enough water, but they always find a way to bounce back and grow strong. Gardening has taught me that change is a normal part of life, and it’s important to embrace it. I have also learned to appreciate and find beauty in every stage of the plant’s life, from the tiny seed to the blooming flower or the delicious vegetable. It reminds me that growth happens little by little, and it’s worth celebrating every step along the way.

Now in my home surroundings filled with carefully selected plants that thrive in the available sunlight and soil conditions. Gardening is a delightful pursuit that enables us to connect with nature, find solace in its beauty, and contribute to the conservation of our planet. Whether you are an experienced gardener or a beginner, the joy of seeing a seed sprout, a bud bloom, or a harvest of fresh vegetables is unparalleled.

My St. Aloysius College is famous for its lush green surroundings. The entire college campus is adorned with numerous plants and trees, making it a visually appealing place. The college takes great pride in preserving nature, which is something our country needs to pay more attention to. They have taken proactive steps to ensure that the natural environment is protected and maintained for the benefit of future generations. By nurturing and caring for the plants and trees on the campus, the college sets a positive example for others to follow in preserving the beauty and essence of nature. It’s a privilege to be a part of a college that values and prioritizes the environment, reminding us of the importance of living in harmony with nature

So, Gardening is a really fun activity that lets us spend time with nature and enjoy its beauty. It also helps us take care of the Earth by growing plants and flowers. It doesn’t matter if you’re new to gardening or have been doing it for a while, the happiness you feel when you see a seed turning into a plant, a flower blooming, or vegetables ready to eat is amazing. So, get your gardening tools, wear your gloves, and start this exciting adventure of making things grow, discovering new things about yourself, and finding happiness that knows no limits.

--

--