The purple sheep

nituchinha
2 min readOct 30, 2023

--

The purple sheep — a visual representation

We live in a world where many claim to be open, positive, and supportive, but when reality hits, masks fall, revealing who is genuine and who is not.

Every time I open up and show my true self, it feels like people distance themselves from me, and some even find me weird.

You often hear phrases like, ‘It’s okay to be yourself. This is a safe space.’ It’s easy to believe these words and decide to share your thoughts and vulnerabilities. However, what happens next is disheartening. Rather than receiving the acceptance you hoped for, you notice that people are irritated or repelled by your authenticity. They start treating you poorly, even though you’ve mustered the courage to open your heart.

It seems your genuineness makes others feel uncomfortable, especially if you unintentionally become the center of attention. They justify their poor treatment by saying, ‘You’re annoying, inconvenient, talk too much, and just seek attention.’ Do I appear as someone who relies on controversy for success? No, I work diligently behind the scenes, and my success speaks for itself. I’m honest not for others but for myself.

What saddens me is that when I’m not fully myself, presenting a more restrained version of me that feels quite dull (not the real, authentic me), people seem to like it, and we connect on some level. But as soon as I become open and brutally honest, with no filters (without disrespecting anyone, just sharing my feelings and story), people either run away or start disliking me. It’s puzzling how they initially love the ‘soft’ version of me and end up despising the real me.

This situation is baffling and worrisome. Is this the kind of world we want to live in? My answer is clear, and I’m concerned about what I see. What about you?

--

--

nituchinha

Just a writer, jurist and musician who has been through a lot but enjoys expressing emotions and ideas from a personal life perspective