9 Reasons Why I Travel Alone and Absolutely Love It

Niveditha Murthy
6 min readJan 12, 2018

--

I have only been back for a week, and three days from now, I’d be leaving again. The last few years have been incredible. I’ve been away at least once a year, for anything from 3 nights to 3 months, alone. I do take trips with friends, and family, but I enjoy travelling alone.

I’ve been met with various reactions while on the road, but they tend to fall into two broad camps; people are either fascinated or terrified when they learn that I am on my own. Both these reactions are totally valid, depending on what’s happened on that particular day. Either can feel completely, and sometimes, painfully justified.

As I sit here thinking about the trips I’ll inevitably take this year, I would like to remind myself why travelling alone is both necessary and important to me.

Here are the 9 reasons why I travel alone and absolutely love it.

1. Because I can do things my way, at my pace

I am on nobody’s clock. I wander off. I stay. I don’t have anyone else’s preferences, needs or feelings to bear in mind and to carefully balance against my own. I can be utterly selfish and not feel guilty about it. This is a luxury often denied to us, adults, living within the boundaries of ever-shifting societal customs.

2. Because I can see what the real me looks like

With no one around who knows me, I’m in my own little world. Stripped off the usual norms of social circles — the unspoken rules of engagement, shared experiences and inside jokes that quietly guide our day-to-day interactions, I can finally be who I really am. Sometimes I like what I see, sometimes I question it. But most often than not, I surprise myself. I feel like there are still different layers of me, both interesting and beautiful, that are yet to be discovered. And travelling alone gives me the chance to.

3. Because new friends are everywhere

It is amazing how much more readily people will strike up a conversation with someone who’s sitting alone. I’ve been invited for a warm meal on a cold winter night by a stranger I met on the bus, gone out for a night of dancing with a bunch of travelling musicians, and been taught to surf by a couple who are a living testament of true love. I don’t believe any of these would have happened if I hadn’t been sitting alone by myself, somewhere.

4. Because the kindness of strangers restores my faith in humanity

I’ve found that the quickest way to see the best in others is by letting yourself be vulnerable. I’ve found regular reminders of why I should have faith in humanity every time I was alone and scared. I have travelled with no money, no cellphone, and absolutely no plans. And yet, I have found myself in the company of kindhearted and generous strangers, many of whom have became close friends over these years.

Clicked somewhere in Pin Valley, Himachal Pradesh

5. Because it helps me to be happy in my own company

People are distracting, which can be awesome if that is what you seek. Having friends, and family to fall back on is one of the greatest joys of life. But walking up the hills, through city streets, and along the shorelines with no conversation to be had other than the quiet mutterings and observations that happen inside my head makes me feel the real, and conscious gratitude in life.

6. Because it helps me appreciate the smaller things in life

Appreciating the morning light that comes in through the kitchen window of the hostel. Cuddling the dog that walked all the way to the top of the Triund hill with me. Noticing with delight how the seagulls kept coming back for the morsels that everybody on the ferry loves to feed them. Watching the sun come up, having spent all night drudging my way up the lazy mountains. Watching the waves rise and fall, fully aware that I must be incredibly lucky to be seeing the things I see and experiencing life in ways that many have not. Travelling has helped me appreciate life with greater honesty and humility.

7. Because it can be scary

Some days are, anyway. Travelling alone has pushed me in that sweet spot that lies just outside my comfort zone, encouraging me to embrace being around unfamiliar places, people and all of the terrifying situations that present themselves while I am alone on the road. Being in scenarios that send me reluctantly crawling into uncertainty and discomfort is utterly crucial to my well-being. It’s what brings me to life, and keeps me there.

8. Because it reminds me that I can

To know that I need nobody other than myself is the source of my deepest inner reserves. People who rescue me when I am lost, or become friends on the road, come as the welcome bonus that I’m utterly grateful for. But strengthening the quiet voice in my head that says ‘I’ll be okay’ is an important gift I wish to keep giving myself, for as long as I still need to be reminded.

9. Because I am constantly growing

There have been moments of discomfort; when no one’s around to take a picture of me atop the waterfall I found along the way (I still struggle to take a selfie); when I have to use the restroom at a bus station but have nobody around to leave my luggage safely with; when I’m lost, broke or otherwise up sh*t creek without a paddle. But these are the moments that have propelled me to be the fiercely independent person that I am today.

Clicked at Kaza, Himachal Pradesh

Travelling alone is exciting, nerve-racking, and so very rewarding, all at the same time. Over the years, I’ve learnt to ease the discomfort and minimize any vulnerability — never banishing either, and finding small ways to feel grounded so I can make the most of being in a new place, alone.

Hope this post helps the budding travellers who are thinking of taking off on their own but are too afraid to. Or those who have already booked their tickets but have the curious case of ‘cold feet’ right before the trip. But most importantly, I hope this post serves as a reminder to keep me smiling, grounded, and, well.. less inclined to freak out as I set out for my next adventure.

If you liked this post, please help me share it with others.

--

--