Why Major in Communication Studies?

The Creative Collective
4 min readOct 28, 2021

--

One of the most promising ways to warrant a successful future is to give yourself options. With a Communication Studies major, I have done just that. Every organization uses communication, but whether this communication is effective or not determines if the organization is successful. Recognizing the importance of verbal, nonverbal, and written communication is imperative. As a Communication Studies major, I have improved my interpersonal and professional verbal communication, enhanced my written communication abilities, and developed many functional soft skills, all while keeping my future open to an abundance of career options.

Formerly a Nutritional Studies Major, my intent was to go into a job where I can help other people. Communication Studies allows me to help others in any realm imaginable. Understanding interpersonal communication has been important for me, as I have learned to read others' emotions, empathize, and respond accordingly. Through nonverbal communication, I have been able to read people’s body language and form a deeper understanding of what they are trying to communicate. I will be able to carry these skills into my professional life, where I would like to connect with superiors, coworkers, customers, and clients alike, and help as many people as I can.

A second reason why Communication Studies is beneficial for me is that I am able to learn about mass media, which has always fascinated me. Critical media studies has taught me to analyze the communication of mass media and be cautiously aware of its impact on society. This passion has led me to grow my professional goals. I would ideally like to have a job in public relations, advertising, or media buying. These areas allow me to use different media platforms to reach an intended audience. Through effective communication and collaboration with clients and companies, I can also fulfill my passion for helping others by understanding their needs and executing a plan of action to help their goals become reality.

In addition to helping others and learning about media, Communication Studies informs other personal goals of mine. I hope to be well-traveled after college, which relates to my interdisciplinary minor in Global Studies. Communication Studies is vital to cultural competence and international studies. World cultures shape society and globalization have an ever-changing effect on the media. According to Raka Shone, a media, communication, and cultural studies scholar, and Radha S. Hedge, a Professor in the Department of Media, Culture and Communication at New York University, it is crucial to study globalization within the topic of Communication Studies because “communication and media processes that constitute culture today… are increasingly caught in a vector of uneven, unequal, and unpredictable global flows and motions’’ (Shone & Hedge 2002). Again, my interest in media that I have picked up through Communication Studies has aided one of my personal interests by allowing me to better understand different cultures and the effects of globalization.

With my professional and personal goals in mind, I can reflect on the many soft skills that I have improved upon as a Communication Studies major, and anticipate how they are applicable beyond college. Soft skills, according to Dr. Otmar E. Varela, a Professor of management at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, is “the interpersonal (e.g., teamwork) and intrapersonal (e.g., time management) capacities that facilitate the performance of technical tasks” (Varela 2020). These skills are transferable across jobs, which is why they are so important.

One of my most valuable soft skills is organization. This includes time management, workspace tidiness, effective and timely communication, and meeting deadlines. I strive to always be on top of my work and prioritize projects by importance and due date. Time management has become an essential soft skill for me throughout college and will help me succeed in a professional setting. Another aspect of organization is within written documents. Using logical structure allows the content of my writing to flow and be considered. Grounding my arguments with evidence brings clarity to my writing.

A second soft skill I possess is active listening. When discussing the importance of soft skills, Dr. Celeste Bates, Professor of Education and Human Development at Clemson University, and Dr. Denise Morgan, associate professor of literacy at Kent State University, argue that listening is one of the most important soft skills. They elaborate on six factors of listening, which include gaining clarity about an issue, understanding the needs, perceptions, and emotions of the speaker, gathering data for feedback, allowing the speaker to refine thinking by speaking to an attentive listener, seeking patterns of behavior, and laying a path for building responses and solutions (Bates & Morgan 2018). I demonstrate listening skills by making an effort to hear every side of a story, being aware of bias, and asking clarifying questions to find an understanding of the topic presented. Communication Studies courses have reinforced these habits, especially in public argumentation and group communication.

Communication Studies has taught me how to be creative and critical, how to work as a group member and a leader, and strengthened my nonverbal, written, and oral communication. I am able to pursue my professional goals of exploring the media industry through media buying, advertising, and public relations. At the same time, I can focus on my personal goals of helping others and being well-traveled. I have learned how to connect and empathize with other people and cultures.

--

--