Welcome to Maria, our new Sigfox Ambassador

Nicolas Lesconnec
2 min readJan 21, 2020

--

In January 2020, 3 new Sigfox Ambassadors were nominated.

This program is putting forward some of the best and independant Sigfox experts, be in the embedded systems part and/or on the cloud application side.

Maria Carlina Hernandez is one of them, get to know her better in this short interview.

Maria Carlina Hernandez

Hello Maria, can you tell us a few words about yourself ?

I was born in Venezuela, but I am currently living in Colombia. Both countries are part of me.

I am an Electronic Engineer specialized in Automation & Control. Currently, I work as IoT Developer Advocate at Ubidots where I put my degree to the test on the Internet of things field. Experience in firmware/hardware development based on IoT solutions, generate written & media content, community engagement, and client-support management. I speak both Spanish and English.

What was your first experience with Sigfox ?

My first experience with technology was in 2017 when I submitted Ubidots as a partner for the Sigfox Ecosystem; this experience allowed me to be a key support for system integrators nationwide during the incoming years.

After the opportunity to join the Hacking House Silicon Valley in 2018, I can say my 2019 was the year of sharing my experience. Besides, as a tech community organizer, and passionate speaker I gave a few talks around Colombia about LPWAN connectivities; one of them in Campus Party Colombia.

Also, help many people (in person and online) to get started with the technology.

What are you plans for 2020 ?

As the leader of IoT Medellin (Tech Community in Medellin), and Sigfox Ambassador for 2020, I plan to give general talks and workshops on Sigfox since the adoption of the technology must be expanded at a national level to allow more citizens to get involved in the Internet of Things field.

These events can be held in communities, universities, and schools in a local (Medellin) and national level; everything will depend on the financial and hardware support that can be provided for the different events.

My main personal plan is to keep organizing events with other Tech communities in Medellin to expand knowledge about IoT and its various verticals. Also, the idea is to share this experience through videos and blog posts in order to inspire more people to do the same.

--

--

Nicolas Lesconnec

Adoption @Sigfox : Startup Programs, University Partnerships & Developer Relations