Book review: The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe

Old Hollywood
4 min readJun 19, 2017

--

The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe by J. Randy Taraborrelli

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

My version of J. Randy Taraborrelli’s biography of Marilyn Monroe (2009) (Photo by Nicole Sherwood)

I’m going to begin this post by revealing that this is my favourite biography of Marilyn Monroe, and I personally believe it to be the best. Having read over 30 books on Marilyn Monroe, I find this one to be the most accurate, rewarding and honest account of Marilyn’s life.

Marilyn Monroe’s life has fascinated people for decades with hundreds of biographies and books written about her. You would assume all are the same, but I disagree. Some are terrible and pure fiction, others are cruel and inaccurate and dramatised. But some are interesting and respectful and celebrate the career and life of the worlds greatest actress.

The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe was published in 2009 by the acclaimed celebrity biographer J. Randy Taraborrelli. I bought the book last year from a local charity shop. It was second hand but in excellent condition. I was hesitant about buying it at first as I was unsure of its accuracy and reliability.

The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe by J. Randy Taraborrelli (Photo by Nicole Sherwood)

You see, at the time a film on Marilyn Monroe, based on this book and with the same name, had just been released. Although I hadn’t seen the film, I had read that it was a dramatisation of Marilyn’s life rather than a biopic, and that it wasn’t well received. Also the title, The Secret Life Of Marilyn Monroe suggests a mystery or dramatisation rather than a biography.

However, I eventually gave in and bought the book as it was only £2, and I do buy almost anything I see if it’s Marilyn Monroe, especially books. When I finally read The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe, I was so releived that I bought it! I thoroughly enjoyed it and I think I read it within 5 days, despite it being 476 pages long!

A page from Taraborrelli’s The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe (Photo by Nicole Sherwood)

Even with its length, the book is so interesting and captivating that you couldn’t possibly get bored. In fact I didn’t even notice the length while I was reading it. It appears effortless and easy to read without being condescending or patronising.

The pictures are of an OK quality but some are quite rare and so rewarding to see. It disappointing that there are any colour pictures but there are over 45 beautiful images from Marilyn’s childhood to her modelling days, and her acting career and even some of her personal postcards and letters too.

Pictures from The Secret Life Of Marilyn Monroe by J. Randy Taraborrelli (Photo by Nicole Sherwood)

What I love most about this book is it’s arrangement and chronology. Taraborrelli’s style of writing is superb and different from other authors. He told Marilyn’s story in an honourable and respectful way, celebrating her life from the beginning till the end, and then her legacy.

At the beginning of the book, Taraborrelli focuses on Marilyn’s upbringing with particular focus on her mother and grandmother. Throughout the book he refers to Marilyn’s childhood and dips into moments in her future that are relevant and important.

Taraborrelli expresses a likeness and respect for Marilyn without being biased, which I admire and would expect from a biography. Taraborrelli has written biographies on many actors and singers including Michael Jackson, Grace Kelly and Elizabeth Taylor.

The back cover of J. Randy Taraborrelli’s biography of Marilyn Monroe (Photo by Nicole Sherwood)

My love for The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe and Taraborrelli’s style of writing led me to buy and read more of his work including Sinatra Behind The Legend and Elizabeth.

For me this book is flawless, and beautifully written with respect for Marilyn. Taraborrelli tells the story of a girl, woman, actress and legend, known as Marilyn Monroe. This books teaches you a lot about the girl branded a sex symbol and the most beautiful beautiful woman in the world. It helps to understand that Marilyn was lonely, mistreated and misunderstood.

The poignant and beautifully written ending to J. Randy Taraborrelli’s biography The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe (2009) (Photo by Nicole Sherwood)

Thanks for reading. I hope you enjoy this review blog post. I would definitely recommend this book, and I have more book and film reviews coming soon. Please recommend some too! Check out my Instagram accounts below for more Old Hollywood stars, quotes, facts, film and book reviews.

--

--

Old Hollywood

I’m Nicole and I’m blogging about my favourite era Old Hollywood this blog reviews the greatest books, actors, singers and films from the Golden Age🌟