My Natalie fragrance collection

Expanding my Natalie Wood collection with the fragrance line Natalie made in her honour.

Old Hollywood
5 min readNov 21, 2018
My entire Natalie collection including the 3-piece gift set inside the beautiful box, and the Natalie roller ball and picture (Photo: Nicole Sherwood)

In 2015, Natasha Gregson Wagner and Courtney Wagner announced that they had created a fragrance in honour of their mother, the actress and icon, Natalie Wood. I’m a huge fan of Natalie Wood and I deeply admire her talent, her films and her enormously wonderful personality. When I heard about the fragrance I was — like everyone — ecstatic. There are very few items of merchandise to celebrate the incredible legacy of Natalie Wood, and with the Natalie fragrance having been created by her loving daughters makes it even more beautiful and special.

The fragrance was inspired by their mother and the signature Gardenia scent that she wore her entire life and took 8-months to make. However, isn't available to be sent to the UK yet. Living in England, means that I haven't been able to buy the Natalie fragrance, or the future Natalie releases (the roller ball or candle). That is until December last year.

As I always browse eBay and Amazon, I noticed that the Natalie 3–piece gift set was on eBay with shipping to the UK. My sisters bought it for me as a Christmas present and I was thrilled.

Inside the Natalie 3-piece gift set including the Natalie fragrance, purse spray. body creme and gorgeous picture (Photo: Nicole Sherwood)

It took 2 years but I was finally able to smell the gardenia fragrance for the first time and it is divine. It’s so heavenly, luxurious and very unique. It lasts for hours and my Grandma especially loves the smell. Whenever I wear it, I feel glamorous, confident and a little bit closer to Natalie Wood.

Within the gift set was the Eau de Parfum, Purse Spray, and the Body Cream and with a beautiful photo of Natalie. I love the body creme and the fresh, modern twist on the gardenia with orange. And the gorgeous box that contains the set is just as beautiful. Whenever I open the box, the gardenia sent blows me away every time.

Then last week I was searching eBay and found the Natalie Eau de Parfum roller ball! It was available for shipping to the UK and it cost just £30. I was so excited at the prospect of having the roller ball. And it arrived within days! I’m literally smelling it as I sit here and I’m so glad I’ve been able to expand my Natalie fragrance collection. I love the convenience of the roller ball and the fact that it looks beautiful and classic and lasts for hours on your skin.

The Natalie gardenia eau de parfum roller ball and photo card I bought this week (Photo: Nicole Sherwood)

Along with the roller ball was a small colour photo card of Natalie. On the back was the iconic story behind the fragrance and how actress Barbara Stanwyck inspired Natalie Wood with her own jungle gardenia fragrance. In the 1946 comedy The Bride Wore Boots, when Natalie was a child actress, she played Barbara Stanwyck’s daughter and adored the smell. Barbara gifted a bottle to Natalie who wore the fragrance for the rest of her life. Natalie also adopted Barbara’s generosity by gifting a bottle of her signature scent to those who complimented her on it.

In the summer, the next Natalie fragrance was released to coincide with what would have been Natalie Wood’s 80th birthday on 20 July. The La Rose Eau de Parfum was released in a pink package as a roller ball and was inspired by Natalie’s love of roses.

As I didn’t have a roller ball at the time I was so gutted (pink is my favourite colour and rose is my favourite smell!), but I’m so glad that the Natalie line has become a great success and lead to more fragrances. Natalie’s eldest daughter Natasha also revealed in an Instagram live chat there is at least one other Natalie fragrance in the works inspired by the smell of Russian churches.

The signature Natalie fragrance in the form of a classic and convenient roller ball for any emergency to smell the gardenia scent (Photo: Nicole Sherwood)

“ “My mom loved gardenias, so whenever I smell them, I always think of my mom. I wanted to create something with that in mind. I also love the smell of orange blossoms, and I live next to an orange orchard, so what inspired me was blending her signature scent with mine.— Natasha Gregson Wagner

As well as fragrances, the Natalie line has released items for the home including a scented candle and a coffee table book. The candle like the fragrance is gardenia and also cannot be shipped to the UK. However the book is available online internationally! Natalie Wood: Reflections on a Legendary Life is a fantastic book by Manoah Bowman with Natasha Gregson Wagner and is very beautifully created. I bought the book 2 years ago and you can read my review here.

The roller ball and photo card which has the story behind why Natalie Wood wore a gardenia fragrance and the inspiration behinf the Natalie fragrance (Photo: Nicole Sherwood)

Thank you to Natasha and Courtney for their dedication and commitment to their mother by creating so many luxurious items in her honour. The Natalie creations are so special to fans of your mother and we’re all so grateful.

“My goal is to keep her memory alive,” — Natasha Gregson Wagner

I would definitely recommend the fragrance to fans of Natalie Wood, Old Hollywood, or anyone who appreciates a true icon and a beautiful fragrance. Or if you’re just looking for a new fragrance, then look no further. Now all we need is international shipping so I can complete my collection with the Natalie candle and the La Rose roller ball, and the world can appreciate the Natalie line and the woman who inspired it all.

The Natalie Wood fragrances, scented candle and body gift sets are available for purchase from nataliefragrance.com

Thank you for reading! Check out my Instagram accounts below for more Old Hollywood stars, quotes, facts, film and book reviews.

--

--

Old Hollywood

I’m Nicole and I’m blogging about my favourite era Old Hollywood this blog reviews the greatest books, actors, singers and films from the Golden Age🌟