SSIGM Blog #6: Inclusive Employment and Leading To Include with Unified Leadership Programs

Nmason
6 min readOct 26, 2019

--

By Daniel Smrokowski, Sargent Shriver International Global Messenger and Special Olympics Illinois Athlete Leader

Celebrating Inclusive Employment:

This month of October, we celebrate National Disability Employment Awareness Month. Those of us with intellectual disabilities bring joy and unconditional love to the workplace. This is the time where we recognize the talent those of us with special needs bring to the workforce. I’m thankful for the businesses who have hired me and have given me an opportunity to be included in the workplace.

One of my employers in January 2014 was the Bugle Newspapers, where I worked as a freelance reporter and columnist. The Bugle Newspapers recognized my skills as a journalist and did not look at my disabilities as a barrier. This is inclusive employment in action. When I worked as a freelance reporter, I covered local community events, village board meetings, and profile stories within the northwest and southwest suburbs of Chicago.

As an award-winning columnist, I told the stories of those of us with special needs. In my monthly column called Special Voices, I gave commentary on special needs issues and shared the unique stories of people with different intellectual and developmental disabilities, as well as updates on Special Olympics.

Another job that I had was working as a dishwasher at a local pizzeria. I also worked at Home Depot as a freight associate.

Currently I work as a sales associate at Goodwill, helping customers on the sales floor and cleaning the store. Creating inclusive workplaces is what I enjoy about working at Goodwill and other companies who support those of us with special needs. This month of October 2019, Goodwill featured my story in their employee newsletter and on their website — read the story on AmazingGoodwill.com.

Companies should hire those of us with special needs not just for charity but because it is the right decision. We are individuals who each bring our individual gifts and skills to the workplace.

The Unified Leadership Experience of Athlete Leadership Programming:

Lead Unified & Play Unified: Let’s Lead To Include!

This past week, October 14–18, I had the honor to be one of over 60 SO leaders who participated in a Global Athlete Leadership Workshop in Dublin, Ireland. This new era of Athlete Leadership Programming from 2020–2025 focuses on Unified Leadership, which building from sport teaches leaders of all abilities to value each other in creating an environment for those of us with intellectual disabilities to succeed in meaningful jobs and roles.

We discussed six competencies that define a unified leader. As a unified leader can lead with the following competencies: empathy, openness, bravery, innovation, accountability, and grit. We talked about what our key strengths and challenges related to each competency. For myself as a unified leader I am good at innovation, grit, and bravery.

Innovation: In an encouraging growth mindset and in the sharing of creative ideas, I have shown innovation by creating Special Chronicles, the nonprofit media platform. I founded SpecialChronicles.com 11 years to give respect and voice to those of us with special needs. It is important to encourage both leaders with and without disabilities to be innovate. In encouraging innovation, we are able to foster understanding, acceptance, and inclusion across our region.

Grit is another skill that a unified leader can develop. For myself in overcoming challenges, I show other leaders how to maintain focus on the importance of leading to include. I never give up on the dreams that I have. Whether it is competing in a new swimming stroke, participating in a Board of Directors meeting, or co-leading our local Athlete Input Council I am able to show how we can all work together and lead unified.

A third competency is bravery — the ability to challenge others and step into other’s shoes. Our Special Olympics Athlete Oath says, “Let me win but if I cannot win let me brave in the attempt.” I use this mindset in encouraging my teammates both when we are competing and leading an Athlete Leadership workshop. During this Global Athlete Leadership Workshop in Dublin, I was encouraging one of my fellow Athlete Leaders from SO Bharat — Shrey from the Asia Pacific region. He was asking me about my experience as a Sargent Shriver International Global Messenger. In hearing him speak, I was able to encourage him to continue to be “brave in the attempt” and continue the skills that we are learning during this Global Athlete Leadership Workshop.

There are 3 objectives from 2020–2025 for Athlete Leadership programming that we discussed. The first is Outreach, Education and Awareness. The second is Recruitment and Training. Finally, the third is Activation and Roles.

Outreach, Education and Awareness:

Leaders without intellectual disabilities, as well as our external community leaders, encourage those of us with intellectual disabilities to see our potential. When we lead unified, we can each learn from other. There are many opportunities that we have as Athlete Leaders to drive awareness for Special Olympics. For example, in working with brand ambassadors we can bring awareness to our Athlete Leadership, Health, Sport, and Youth leadership training.

Recruitment & Training:

This objective of our training is how we can grow the number of Athlete Leaders. When we do this, we can provide leadership roles both inside and outside of our Special Olympics movement. The Leadership Academy is where we can be trained in Athlete Leadership, Health Leadership, Sport, or Youth Leadership.

As an Athlete Leader, we can be trained as public speakers, photography, podcasts, and social media. During these workshops as Athlete Leaders, we can lead as facilitators in training our fellow Athlete Leaders. As a Health Messenger, Athlete Leaders can be trained to work with health professionals, our fellow athletes, & families so we can all live a healthy live. In addition, within Sport Leadership, we can work to be trained as coaches within our various sports.

Activation and Roles:

This objective of activation and roles is one where we can increase the opportunities that those of us with intellectual disabilities have to showcase our skills and change attitudes of our community.

Governance is one of the roles that we have as Athlete Leaders. This is where we are trained to work and lead unified with the Board of Directors of our SO program. We also assist with fundraisers, participate in Athlete Input Council, and meet with partners. As an Athlete Representative on the Board and on Committees we can work unified with the management teams of our SO program.

Some other Athlete Leadership roles that we discussed included a Pop Up Shop to give back to our local program or volunteering within our local communities. As a Coach or Sports Assistant, we can help our fellow athletes and coaches to do the best job that they can do. A few other roles that we have Athlete Leaders include, an Event Lead and providing technical support, an Awards Assistant, Volunteer or as Registration. As a Global Messenger, we are able to be a spokesperson, work as a podcaster, journalist, social media manager, or commentator.

There are many new education, training, and leadership opportunities that we have within our Athlete Leadership Programs. I am grateful for this opportunity to connect with fellow Athlete Leaders and to Lead Unified with our program staff. Join me as we play unified and lead unified. Together, we can Lead to Include.

--

--