Network is Net Worth

Namrata More
4 min readNov 13, 2019

--

It’s indeed awesome to be a part of a community which gives you much more than you could imagine!

It’s just been a year, one of my friend explained for what & why is DevFest season all over the globe and this year I explain people of why is DevFest not just another event & is a feeling of sharing their success stories and leanings, mistakes & come-ups, it’s a proud of the city, it’s a season, it’s a celebration connected with individuals & communities in every part of the globe. Here, people even travel to share their ideas, explore new technologies, new cities & connect.

This DevFest season, I’ve seen the organizing as well as the ‘we are here for you’ side.

DevFest Kozhikode, Kerala on 9th November’19

DevFest’19 season has been incredible for me, I got opportunity to present my research & story as a speaker at four of the DevFest in India. DevFest is a community-lead developer events hosted by Google Developer Groups(GDG) around the globe. GDGs are focused on community building and learning & improving Google technologies. It has been an awesome experience being a part of such a huge paradise. ‘Learning Machines & Trying Machine Learning’ one of the attendees’ suggestion for me shows how communities celebrate differences!

GDG & WTM Pune has always been an introducer for me to new things and Mahaveer Muttha Sir for helping explore so much, and 28th September’19, we had our DevFest Pune’19,welcoming sessions from all over the world, networking, sharing knowledge around community.

DevFest Hubli, Karnataka on 29th September’19

The next day, I never thought I’ll go on with the attendees with such enthusiasm all the day forgetting I was so tired the evening before. DevFest Hubli in Karnataka on 29th September’19 was Hubli’s first DevFest and mine too :) I spoke about my journey from mech to tech & one of my project, Noise Reflector in REDX founded by Prof. Ramesh Raskar. It was an awesome experience being a mechanical student to motivate techies, met the awesome organizers and it was an honor to share stage with Nikhil Raichur for my first DevFest talk.

DevFest Ahmadabad, Gujarat on 12th October’19 was such an amazing & different experience for me, so much encouragement from the people I met there, the organizers, speakers, the attendees were so enthusiast, one would forget all his worries & feel the Developers’ Festival there. I spoke about my journey which made me inclined to human computer interaction & product management and my recent research in user experience & it was indeed a place to understand human behavior talking with a lot of people learning from communities and made me realize of how communities have helped me grow in past three years. The same night my travel with Dhrumil Shah Sir to Nashik DevFest was so much fun, we had so much to talk about and I felt like a guide and a friend accompany at the same time.

DevFest Ahmadabad, Gujarat on 12th October’19

DevFest Nashik, Maharashtra on 13th October, I got a chance to interact with a lot of students and try to help around their projects to mature them to products and using technologies for society. I spoke a lot on how communities build you & how you grow being a team.

Ending DevFest India season with a boom at Kozhikode, Kerala on 9th November was the tagline for all of us there. The people around were amazing to talk with before and after the event too. Alot of people approached for knowing more on product design & development with HCI and it was a lot encouraging for my research. The after party at the Calicut beach was the coolest part with the organizers and Amrit Sanjeev Sir & his guidance would be a lot help for my future endeavors.

DevFest Nashik, Maharashtra on 13th October

DevFest’19 season for me has been wonderful from both sides of the stage. Thanks to all WTM & GDGs for giving us beginners too such a platform. This is so much encouragement, has improve my depth of knowledge as well as talk at every stage, communicate with people, understand perspectives & enjoying while spreading happiness is what I came back with. Talking at four DevFest at four different states in one season, what more does a user experience person needs. It was indeed an awesome experience for a lifetime explaining, ‘Network is Net Worth’.

--

--

Namrata More

Razorpay | GoogleDevExpert - Payments | LinkedIn Top Payment Industry Voice | Indian Payment Ecosystem | Design | Innovate | Product www.namratamore.xyz