Another Phase, Another Chapter

Nneka Omin
Fit Yourself Club
Published in
2 min readMar 14, 2017

Last week was rather an emotional week for me.
I could barely concentrate at work, it didn't also help that was my first day after a long break. Engorged breasts didn't help too.

As I went about my day, I kept thinking what he was doing. No matter how hard I tried, every other minute I found my thoughts drifting towards him. Needless to say, it was a very long day at work.

He had awoken earlier than usual on that day...and while I was dressing up for work, he kept staring at me, then came the cry. I reached out for him, I tried to breastfeed him, but he wasn't having any of it.

While still in his non-cooperative state, with my arms wrapped around him, we took a stroll around the entire house. With every step, I mutter silently to him "mummy has to go to work", hoping he will somehow understand me. Then he did stop crying, peace was restored...at least so I thought. But the moment I went out of the door, my heart broke into a thousand pieces. I silently wept all through my way to work. It was the longest bus ride to work ever.

Nobody can successfully describe labour and motherhood in all its glory. You have to experience it, only then you will come to appreciate motherhood.

Every development — mental, physical, psychological, etc — in the life of your baby is a milestone. You look forward to it.
You get worried when these developments come later than usual, you unconsciously begin to compare it with that of your nephew, niece, godchild, etc.

I practically live my life on Google now. I Google and read up every development in his life. Every discomfort, every change, every sign, I literally turn to Google for answers.

I spend hours on the Internet reading reviews of items I want to buy for him. Some of these items I know how to use, others I have no clue whatsoever. But thanks to YouTube for helping me figure them out at the end.

My cute little man has the cutest toothless smile ever.
Being a mother is a huge task, it includes selflessly taking care of another human without expecting anything in return.

Safe to say motherhood is a sacrifice.

--

--