Buying an iPhone at the Nokia store

this story is dedicated to people who have had their present but are still falling for their past.

Inn N
4 min readFeb 23, 2023
Photo by NIKLAS LINIGER on Unsplash

She said, “buying an iPhone at the Nokia Store”.

Yesterday, accidentally on Twitter I was scrolling and typing my old username into the search field (that’s so narcissistic but I was just curious about what happened back then) and yeah I got a lot of stuff that cracked me up on my bed for almost 15 minutes hahaha.

It was the tweet in the past from my beloved best friend that mentioned me in it. She was very random, another stuff had come up and something else popped into my head.

Back then, we were only in our teens when everything we did looked cool, (okay we thought) very plain, and delightful.

There was a time when at school she would just come or waited for me in front of my class just to tell me our favorite band had made their comeback, so they were so incredibly cool and handsome in the clip video and we went crazy about it without thinking the whole class would stare at us weirdly or maybe laugh at us and some found it funny too.

On other days, we used to call each other and talked all night about the guy from a fictional story we were reading. Sometimes being so happy and crazy about how perfect and romantic it was that it made us so flutter. Sometimes, we became so emotional and angry at the antagonist, felt sorry for the good girl who was hurt so many times-, or even prayed for the bad guy that he would regret it for the rest of his life. It was just fiction but we discussed it like it was the biggest crisis of our lives.

When it was a sunny day, we were able to text each other to go out around the city aimlessly, went to the beach, got something to eat-, or just made a small picnic at the seaside. And Sleepover was also the best part of the day.

Being stupid for anything like laughing at things that don’t make sense, being serious at things that don’t matter even crying over useless things. But on the other side, that kind of friend is the one who always stands up for all your sides and situations.

When I got sick and there was no one around me I could ask for help then she would be there, when I needed a place to collect all the stories going through my tiring days then she was willing. She was also voluntarily being a detective to find my dearest phone robbed on the street for days. Even, she was the most worried. The one who always cheered me up privately and publicly. Ago, when she was there for everything.

I asked her for the evidence from that tweet after weeks we didn’t contact.

“look how crazy you were!” I typed.

she replied, “I forgot I ever said that”.

“Cruel! The reply made me upset”, I said to her.

“Was it me? Why was this so funny? I’m shocked, that’s crazy”,

then we laughed, and I said again “You changed. You’re too smart and sane right now. It’s not exciting at all and neither am I”

Before it ended she said, “It was an alien speak. I was a kiddo”.

Growing up is a part of life when all those stupid things just have to go away. What I would like to tell that everything’s already changed. There are so many things that happened over the years, what things we faced, who we met, and how we have overcome that.

Life is still going on and keeps changing and for sure nothing will be ever the same. The same story happened to many people out there, losing those crazy times. It is normal, maybe we started to build our dreams more seriously, living elegantly and classily without being silly again.

The new chapter, the new life, many need adaptation, and people are going through hardships many times, and finally being alone is the best choice. It is not bad, we are busy and we need rest.

Do you agree with that? or do we can hold onto anything to be with us going through it all? Or yeah. We can maintain it if we want, we can have it if we will. But I think, it will never be the same for the whole, there will always be something different along with the transformation that develops. So, accept it. This can also happen in other fields.

Our life keeps processing and progressing, filtering everything that will determine what kind of life, and what kind of person we would be. In the end. Other things, can also just be part of ‘Come and go’ things, tests, hard times, or just not good times.

Everything has its time. When we were a baby we were only playing with toys, when we were a kid we were riding cute bikes-, and in our teens, we had a bicycle with us. We continue to grow up with motorbikes and cars.

So, “Buying an iPhone at the Nokia Store”,

There are a lot more things like this back then. They were ridiculous yet precious. Nevertheless, the change doesn’t have to create a big distance, it will always be connected to the same heart and feeling, though not the same but in a different and new way.

By the way, I didn’t even know if we still have a Nokia store. She was talking nonsense.

A Best friend will always be a best friend 🤡.

--

--