The Difficulty In Growing a Good Idea

Noah
5 min readDec 29, 2017
Source: pixabay.com

After reading Michael Simmons Observer article “Forget 10,000-Hours: Edison, Bezos and Zuckerberg Follow the 10,000-Experiment Rule,” I became inspired and agitated at the same time. Inspired because I am fixated with my passion for creation, mainly because at my current state as a college sophomore I don’t know what I want to do so the thought of creating my own career sounds fascinating, and agitated because while articles like this may spark the imagination with endless possibilities, I personally have had a very difficult time getting any idea or experiment past this seemingly perpetual state.

Simmons’ article first struck my attention with his introduction to Thomas Edison:

“Edison would go on to pioneer five different multibillion-dollar fields with his invention factory: electricity, motion pictures, telecommunications, batteries, and sound recording. In today’s terms, you can think of Edison as Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and Mark Zuckerberg all rolled into one.”

This was striking to me because of how one man was singlehandedly able to create five things that today almost every person in the entire world uses. Think about it, Thomas Edison was so successful that he has invented multiple things that today the entire world can’t live without. Now that’s what I call leaving your mark on the world.

--

--