[Photo Description: camera at ground level, trolley is coming down the street, out of focus][Photo Credit: Burak K at Pexels]

Prompts for Writing/Drawing

Noah Wizard
3 min readJan 31, 2020
  • Ride’s Here
  • The Approach
  • Don’t Cross the Line
  • Line of Electricity
  • Parked, One behind the Other
  • I Could Not See the Signal
  • Rain Slicked
  • I Could Hear the Bells

The Approach by Noah Wizard

Painful; not knowing how it will go.

2019 was a year of uncomfortable nonsense slowly descending upon me, only to reveal that after each event was concluded, I not only was standing but had passed my tests with flying colors.

I hated waiting for the events to occur. I hated that they were occurring in the first place; I had not really been asked if I wanted to attend; these were more engagements where you could certainly decline but there would be no perfectly reasonable excuse. If you didn’t go, it was because you didn’t want to go. And so why didn’t you want to go please tell me now??

So I went.

But I didn’t actually go 100% out of obligation; I’ve done that in previous years. 2015 had big obligations that I wasn’t ready for.

2019 was a year of “eh, maybe I’m ready, let’s just gear up for it and see.”

And I geared up; I gave the preparation everything I had.

And when time came to see, we saw, and we saw that it was good; I was well prepared and able to survive the awkwardness of social situations I once would have crumpled before.

And so 2020 came along and it was time to launch. A lot of people were launching themselves in 2020, the nice round numbers and an election year and a brand new decade. It was nice. It was a nice excuse to give it our all.

And it’s only one month in, so it’s hard to say how the 2020 year will have gone, but it was cool to have taken the pains of 2015, forged them into some kind of strength in 2019, and launch in 2020.

Launching was more fun than worrying.

But of course… I was ready for it… so who knows if that worrying was worrying or if that worrying was prep. I think it was prep.

We’ll never know.

cartoon of noah wizard, man with glasses, pencil behind ear
Noah Wizard, Self-Help Cartoonist

“Writing” is hard, when we think we have to think something up, but Julia Cameron reminded us that much of writing is just “getting something down.”
Want to learn to type your thoughts, instead of staring at a blank document? Sign up for the Start Typing Challenge, Prompts by Noah Wizard
Each email contains unseen prompts, each taken from a beautiful photograph like the one pictured above.
Sign Up here and be sure to confirm your email address:
https://noah-wizard.ck.page/68855270fb

--

--