Only A Sith Deals In Absolutes

Noah Cracknell
3 min readFeb 20, 2022
Photo by Matthew Ball on Unsplash

As I’m sure many of you can relate, the “Star Wars” saga is very dear to my heart. And while the story takes place in a galaxy far, far away, there are lessons in it that we on planet Earth can learn from. One of my favorite lines takes place when Obi-Wan-Kenobi is dueling Anakin Skywalker on Mustafar, in “Revenge of the Sith.” At the beginning of their lightsaber duel Anakin angrily exclaims, “If you’re not with me, then you’re my enemy,” It was at this very moment that Obi-Wan knew Anakin had turned to the dark side and had become a sith lord. Obi-Wan replies, “Only a sith deals in absolutes.” As a nine year old, I was oblivious to the deeper meaning here, but now I appreciate Obi-Wan’s wisdom.

As you may have gathered from previous articles, I’m utterly fascinated by, and spend countless hours studying healthcare, longevity, and human performance. But, I will be the first to tell you there is so much I don’t know. In fact, I cannot explain the vast majority of physiological processes that are constantly happening throughout our bodies. In my short time working and studying in the healthcare sector, if there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s that there’s far more that’s not well known or understood than is actually known and understood. Brilliant scientists have evolved the field of medicine over the last hundred years to the point where no one thought possible a century ago. But for all the…

--

--

Noah Cracknell

BSc Health Sciences || Growth @ Superset || Top Writer in Health || Attempting to live in 3 centuries.