KLIA Jungle Boardwalk, a Forest Inside an Airport

Noel Cabacungan
3 min readApr 22, 2018

How often do you get to an airport with an in-house forest? Other airports may boast of their flower gardens but the Kuala Lumpur International Airport has an entire forest at their disposal.

I have always been fascinated with photos of houses, buildings, or any structures adorned with indoor gardens. Especially if the garden is huge enough to be compared to a jungle. If I would ever be able to build my dream house, half of the floor area will be dedicated to an indoor rainforest.

Which explains why when I first saw the botanical garden situated inside one of KLIA’s two buildings during one of my stops in Malaysia, I was so eager to go inside but the stop on my trip from Jeddah to Manila was too short. Fortunately, my stop on my way back was long enough for me to go inside, though it took me a while to locate the entrance. If you’ll ever be in this airport and would also want to have a glimpse of what’s inside, look for a glass door with yellow chain curtains near the cosmetics shops.

It was humid inside, as expected. I sweat a lot just by circling the boardwalk around the waterfall. The next time I’ll have a long stop there, I’ll bring a full clothing change so I could jog on the…

--

--