noellerson
4 min readJun 22, 2016

Dear Mr. Vogel,

Please allow me to introduce myself. I am Noelle (Noli) Ellerson. I have lived in the DC area for almost nine years, a transplant from upstate New York. Growing up, I spent my family summer vacations camping in the great outdoors. The beauty of our nation’s state and national parks is something I grew up with, something as natural to me as the air I breathe. I write today about the overlap of this and another hobby I hold dear: running. Specifically, I write to you about November Project DC, the Lincoln Monument, and what it means to me. Thank you, in advance, for reading this.

I live in the greater DC area. Specifically, I live in Northern Virginia, which to many DC residents is akin to living in a different country. Jokes about needing passports abound when there is mention of an Arlington based activity, whether a happy hour, an excursion, or a group dinner. There is a magnetic draw to DC that renders the reverse invitation all but moot. One is almost expected to build a professional and social life that center on DC. And while I am not originally from DC (who is?) I work in DC. And relevant to this conversation, I spend the majority of my weekday mornings (when I am not on work travel) commuting into the city, well before work, to be a gracious beneficiary of the abundance of parks the city has to offer. Specifically, I am a proud member of November Project-DC.

Depending on who you talk to, NP is a free fitness community; a running group with a socializing problem; a social group with a running program; a way to see your city; an excuse to explore parts of your town that you would otherwise never see. I am a former college athlete. I’ve done the sport camps, the team experiences, the individual training. I know the responsibility of a routine and training. I know the benefits that come from being with those who push you, those who support you, those who hold you accountable while celebrating your accomplishments.

To me, NP is all of the above, and more. November Project is hands down the most welcoming fitness community I have ever had the opportunity to participate in. They welcome all ages all size, all shapes, all fitness levels. Everyone is welcome and everyone is awesome. It’s Lake Wobegone, in real life, because at NP everyone is an above average version of themselves, and we are there to push ourselves and each other.

And in Washington DC, where the NP tribe is one of the largest and the fastest growing, I would emphasize that NP is an ambassador of the best things this city has to offer. I know so many tribe members who relish the chance to bring a visiting family member or friend to try out NP, to visit the Lincoln Monument or Meridian Hill Park while the city slumbers. I work for a national organization representing our nation’s public school superintendents. I have taken supts with me to the early morning NP sessions. Every year there is a push to get our nation’s 4th graders into the national parks. Support for a program like that comes, in part, from support of school leaders — including superintendents and principals — in being aware of the program and knowing themselves what our nation’s parks offer. When the superintendents have experienced the wonder of a national park or monument in an unexpected manner — including an early morning workout — that is a story that makes it home to the local school board, the local community, the local classroom.

A visit to a park or monument is more than just a solemn, respectful walk. Educators are keenly aware of the various modes of learning, and I would make a strong, sincere argument for the deep value in not only acknowledging but also supporting the different manners in which people experience their nation’s parks and monuments. Some people experience a monument in isolation, quietly strolling thru lost in thought. Others come in pairs to share private conversations. Still more come in large groups, an educational experience to those seeing their nation’s history in person, while others come from overseas to see the wonders that stand for what makes our country great. Some ride through on bikes or on a tour bus, part of a multi-monument tour. Still more experience it weekly, in a group setting that adds in fitness. All have value, all have purpose, because learning and history are personal. And our nation’s monuments and parks, as daily reminders of the beauty and meaning of our nation’s land and leaders, will be experienced and processed in different manners. All are meaningful, all are acceptable.

It is in this stream of thought that I provide my solemn vow to work cooperatively, following the leadership of Kaelan and Steve, to ensure that NP remains the welcoming, respectful community we have become, and I thank NPS for all that they have done to date to foster that growth and community. I am keenly aware that a part of the draw to our DC tribe is that we are so uniquely positioned with access to countless national parks and boundaries. Washington DC is the nation’s capital. The mall is America’s front lawn, and the monuments are a reminder of all that our country has endured, what we stand for, what we can become. We honor the solemnity of the parks and monuments, and are an excellent opportunity for visitors to our wonderful city to experience the monuments before the city fully wakes. Following Kaelan and Steve, NP-DC has enjoyed a strong working relationship with NPS, and I write this letter/testimony as just one voice that has benefited from that collaborative approach, one I hope can continue to grow like wildflowers.

Mad, mad Love for the best group of people I never knew I was missing (until I met them).

Noli