The Perfect Puddings Are Sad!

Noémi Marczell
3 min read4 days ago

Do I have trouble following a recipe? Nope, I’m capable of following, just never feel like doing it. “Never follow a recipe” is my slogan when I cook. Every dish will be different and perfectly imperfect. Every meal, every moment, and every step in life is unique.

Photo by Atikah Akhtar on Unsplash

There is beauty in repentance, there is beauty in continuously good food but there is magic in finding something new in the same pudding.

Once Upon a Time…

Let me share another secret with you. Every time it rains cats and dogs there is this urge in me that takes me to the kitchen. I feel like I have to make a pudding and eat it hot. Yeah, I might be crazy.

So, every time I’m hyped up about the delicious pudding I make sure the family knows about my plan. Kids watch me with their round hungry eyes to be ready. I praise the pudding. I tell stories about how cozy is to listen to the raindrops and fill our belly with the finest, warmest desserts on Earth. They tell me to hurry, I say it’s a matter of time. They want to try it, and I say it’s too hot right now. How excited they are when I’m finally ready, or seems like ready. Because in my kitchen not everything is made from sugar and spice and everything nice.

For the last six years, I have made puddings and never ever followed the recipe.

--

--

Noémi Marczell

I love the writing process. Sharing my thoughts without the need to impress others. If you want to read more from me for free, go to https://wittywitch.net.