How create mockups for iOS apps?

Martin Martinez
3 min readNov 13, 2023

--

https://github.com/martinolidev/FinanceDashboard

Hey everyone! I’m back with a new blog and this time isn’t about something very technical, but this will very helpful, for the following reasons:

  • You want to upload your app to the App Store
  • You want to create a nice Github repository
  • You want to show a preview for a client

The screenshot on top was my first mockup, I had no idea about how to create one but this is great! And… let’s be honest looks better than this:

That was my first SwiftUI practice, is okay yeah but with the mockup is so much better and it looks more profesional. So enough and let’s start with it.

What is a mockup?

Mockup, or mock-up, is a scale or full-size model of a design or device, used for teaching, demonstration, design evaluation, promotion, and other purposes.

How to create an iOS mockup?

First I want to thank to all the people on reddit that helped me! All their comments were really useful but I want to apologize for my bad and poor explanation.

You can find all the comments here:

So, thanks to a reddit user I found this App, is available for MacOS, iPad and iOS and the best is free!

It has a pay version but it will be enough for my GitHub repositories

MockView

As you can see guys, the interface is really easy to use! And you have this options:

  • A regular mockup with backgrounds
  • A video mockup, this is helpful to show a little preview of your App
  • A 3D mockup
  • Multiple devices like iPhone, iPad and even Mac’s!

The only thing you have to do is, take a screenshot from the iOS simulator and drop the image on the box! Then you can select multiple background and stuff, like this:

And then you have this:

Later with another image editor you add more things! I also love the 3D mockup, you can move the device in multiple angles!

And then you got this:

This is just awesome! I hope this is helpful for everyone, again thanks to reddit users that helped me, now go and create awesome mockups, take care! ❤

--

--