12 lessons from being homeless

Life has a way of teaching us

Noma Dek
4 min readJul 18, 2019

People often think that homelessness is for other people, you know those with mental diseases, drug addicts, and misfits. They carefully strut their stuff on the downtown streets avoiding contact with those social outcasts, yet the truth is most people are one paycheck away from that harsh reality.

I found myself in the streets and this is what I learned:

1/God loves me even when I’m in low vibration

When I was on the streets I was suffering from severe depression and I was walking around like a zombie and didn’t know what to do with myself. But it was a great opportunity to not only see, but feel God’s love in a well pronounced way. I remember asking

Where should I go now?

I’d go down the street, turn left,and someone would show up with resources. Knowing that I’m loved at all times no matter what’s going with me makes me feel special. Or be guided to a thrift store and buy a pair of pockets only to find 25 Euros in them.

2/The art of asking and receiving

This was a tough one for me. My mother taught us to make do with what we have and never ever ask help from others. It was a way of protecting us from being judged and as one of the few single mothers she didn’t want others to see her as incapable . So I grew up thinking that was ok, and avoided asking for much because there was shame attached to asking. However, homelessness will take you far away from your comfort zone. I quickly learned that asking for help is necessary — we all need help from time to time. While asking is the front part of the equation receiving seals the deal. I realized that receiving is just as important. It is showing the Universe that you’re ready for the abundance life has to offer.

3/Good bye pride hello humility

Before being in the streets I did have a stuck up attitude. I thought I was above others and certain situations, and I was so wrong. I found myself talking to people i’d have otherwise ignored because of the way they looked. It’s important to be humble because we never know who God will place in our paths. Jesus hung out with all kinds of people even outcasts like the woman who washed his feet or the Samaritan woman at the well if he wasn’t too good then I got to eat humble pie.

4/Gratitude is key

I’ve always been a grateful person but this situation took it to another level. I had people whom I didn’t know helping or offering to help out and they didn’t have to. And the more thankful I got the more blessings fell on me

5/Quiet time is super important

We’re often rushing to meet deadlines and working double shifts so much that we have no time to silence the noise that distracts us from connecting with God/ Source/ Universe and sometimes we get forced into situation like this where we have no choice but be still. Taking a few minutes out the day isn’t going to hurt.

6/Homeless people look out for their people

I never found a community that was so tight. They would recognize me and tell me where to get the next meal or whatever resource they find. They share the word.

7/Have tough skin

When you’re on the streets, homeless , people with homes to go to can be cruel. Some people will treat you like an animal or garbage. It hurts to be treated like your existence is a crime. Some men will try to have sexual abuse women knowing they’re desperate and won’t report them.

8/Be creative with what you have

For weeks I made a bed out of cardboard boxes and used my pocket book as a pillow. Lucky for me I had a blanket for a baby that I put with my over my feet where the coat couldn’t cover to stay warm in the snow. I also went to the stores to get samples just to ease my stomach growls. No matter how limited life may seem, abundance is right around the corner. Always looking out for opportunities to help pass the day.

9/Resist the urge to judge others

It’s easy to make assumptions like people on the streets are drug addicts, prostitutes, running from the law, or whatever else, but the truth is not all of them fit the stereotypes, there are people who lost their jobs and found themselves in that position, or severely depressed people. I met people who were prominent citizens who lost their jobs and family and couldn’t take it and lost their mental abilities like a doctor whose wife cheated and he ended up losing it.

10/Knowing that some situations are meant to be temporary

When I was out there I met people who had been in that homelessness lifestyle for years. They had gotten comfortable in discomfort and so nothing wrong with it. There’s always a way out of any bad situation, if you don’t how — ask for guidance, believe and listen.

11/ Building an emergency fund is super important

It took a while to get this one, but this is very helpful. Life will have setbacks but if I had put some money on the side then I’d been in a better situation.

12/ Taking care of my mental health

Prior to this situation I had taken my mental health for granted. I obviously had a mental breakdown which was caused by loss of my baby and a whole lot of garbage that I had allowed myself to put up with. I now take my mental health as part of self care. I’m grateful that I recovered from depression and found my way back on the other side but what if that didn’t happen? I’d still be lost out there.

--

--

Noma Dek

Mom to a lively energetic boy, writer, professional organizer. In a world that thrives on negativity, I enjoy looking for positivity every chance I get.