Why is the 80’s aesthetic so nostalgic?

noondles
3 min readSep 5, 2023

--

Since 2019, I’ve been riding a thrilling wave of 80s nostalgia, but let me clarify — that’s when my passion for the new-style synthwave truly ignited. I’ve always had a soft spot for 80s music, but it wasn’t until I entered my twenties that the entire aesthetic took over me in a way I’d never felt before.

One rainy day in 2018, I stumbled upon a band called ‘The Midnight,’ and the moment their albums graced my ears, I was smitten. It marked my initial encounter with synthwave, and though it bore traces of the 80s, it was a fresh, contemporary take on the era’s soundscape. It felt like a new wave of emotions crashing over me, and I fell head over heels.

I quickly discerned the distinction between the original 80s vibe and this newfound 80s “new wave” that seemed to be born in like the 2010’s. It wasn’t just the music; it was the entire aesthetic universe that accompanied it. Abandoned malls, vibrant arcades, the theme of youth and wanderlust — all of it called out to me. From the pastel elegance of Miami Vice to the youthful camaraderie of The Breakfast Club, I was captivated by the various facets of 80s aesthetics.

And now on TikTok, this 80s aesthetic is beginning to trend. It’s fascinating to witness, considering that well before it hit the mainstream, I had already embraced it, living and breathing the vibe. While TikTok users my age just now jumped on the bandwagon, I felt like I’d been an 80s time traveler all along.

This 80s-inspired music serves as a time machine, transporting me to a simpler era. It’s a profound connection, one that’s been with me since childhood but truly embedded itself in my soul in 2018 when I turned 21.

I envision my future home dripping in this 80s vibe, not just in decor but in lifestyle. I want to dress like an 80s icon, live like it’s the 80s, possess an 80s phone, and even speak with that distinct 80s flair. It’s a facet of my identity I eagerly embrace.

Yet, I can’t help but yearn for more immersive experiences. Why can’t we have clubs dedicated to specific decades or aesthetics? Imagine an 80s-only themed club or a night dedicated to the 70s. The idea is simply wonderful!

I fondly recall a night in 2020 when my cousin and I ventured to a clandestine synthwave party. The journey itself felt like stepping back in time. We followed cryptic directions, crossed a bridge, descended a staircase, and arrived at an underground synthwave utopia. The pulsating lights and disco balls welcomed us into ‘San Junipero,’ a name that still gives me chills. It was a transcendent experience, a glimpse into an era I yearned for.

We need more of these immersive events, for every vibe imaginable. And don’t even get me started on 80s rock; that’s a treasure trove of sonic delight. I feel like whether it’s the classics or the new wave, it’s a love affair that knows no bounds!

--

--

noondles
0 Followers

there is no one quite like you or me ✨