Why Must Some People Suffer So Much

Ted Czukor
1 min readNov 17, 2023

Free Verse

Photo by John Thomas on Unsplash

Why must some people suffer so much?
One person like that hurts more than three others.
How can that be, and why should it be?
Did they do something awful in a past life?

They’re certainly gentle enough now.
Patient, kind and funny. Talented and smart!
Why must they suffer so much?
What could they have possibly done?

Is God really that uncaring?
“No,” says God, “for I gave her you!
“Doesn’t that prove how much I care?”
“I don’t know,” I reply. “Was I really enough?”

I wish we could have taken away her pain,
God and I. Was that so much to ask?
Why must some people suffer so much?
What could they have possibly done?

Whatever it was, I could forgive it.
Why couldn’t God? There must be a reason.
There has to be a reason that I will never know
As long as I live in this world.

--

--

Ted Czukor

Born 1947. Actor, Yogi, Writer, Scholar, Metaphysician, Film & Tape Editor, Archer, Cook, Old Hippie, Handyman, Spiritual Teacher, Philosopher, Former Caregiver