An Amazing Travel to Panama

Noreen Khalily
7 min readOct 19, 2021

--

Rolling my blue wheeled duffel bag I arrived in the banking and business capital of the Republic of Panama, Panama city for a very unlikely holiday trip. Travelling to an international banking centre for a holiday sounds more like Chocolate and Avocado, No?

While most people would think of this as a school trip, it was an amazing experience. Panama city is a delight to visit, with delectable cuisine, a plethora of shopping opportunities, and a booming nightlife scene, as well as restored colonial architecture that was previously collapsing. (not to be missed)

“We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us.”

Panama city is not well-known for its tourism sector but the ruins of the old city, however, known as Panamá Viejo (Old Panama), now known as Casco Viejo are still present and serve as a popular tourist attraction.

Photo by @Franklin Canelon on unsplash

Casco Viejo or the Old Quarter was surely the first on my list. After checking into my 3-star hotel room, which cost me about $55USD per night.[Don’t forget to check the view from your hotel room’s window, which is a. must ], I then went to a nearby Panamanian Restaurant for lunch and the food was scrumptious. Without wasting any more time, I headed to my first destination, Casco Viejo. Since I only had two days to explore the city.

A quick tip: In Panama City, the bus is an excellent mode of transportation. It’s also relatively cheaper compared to the taxi charges.

So, I took the bus, looked up directions on Google Maps, and walked a short distance to Casco Viejo, which, unlike other tourist attractions, was free to visit. Casco Viejo is the quintessential tourist hub with restaurants, hotels, cathedrals, museums, boutiques and nightclubs. Most of Panama’s historical landmarks are preserved here.

Casco Viejo is an entire world in and of itself. While roaming around Casco Viejo, I. came across some beautiful local stalls. There were vendors selling jewellery, souvenirs, key chains, and tote bags. There were also some traditional Panama fabric and hat stalls that I spotted. The majority of the vendors were women. I even bought a traditional necklace and a couple of keychains.

The streets were narrow and had a European feel about them. I also stumbled across the statue of General Tomas Herrera, Head of State of the Free State of the Isthmus now Panama. The recycling container was one of the coolest things I observed in Casco Viejo. This is something I haven’t seen in a long time. I was also fortunate to glimpse the Sacred Heart Cathedral, from the outside. Although I. couldn’t go inside due to a lack of time, it was fascinating to see it from the outside.

Photo by @Miguel Bruna on unsplash

There were so many places to visit in such a short period. So for Day 1, I decided to stick to two locations; Panama Canal Museum and National Theatre. Because these two locations were pretty close together, which made the commute pretty quick and easy.Thanks to the friendly locals on the bus.

Panama Canal Museum-My first stop, A marvel of engineering for its time. The canal museum, with its historic significance and rich history, was awe-inspiring. The building’s infrastructure and architectural style were both French-inspired, reflecting the French influence. It has 11 exhibition halls and offers a rich learning experience focused on preserving, studying, and bringing Panama’s history to life. It has a lot of planning materials and intriguing building items. There were photos, site plans, and a lot more on exhibit. The structure indeed was a marvel of engineering for its time.

I came across several local food and drink stalls outside the museum. I also got to try the shaved iced drink popularly known as ‘raspados’ in Panama. I was surprised to find the local sellers to be extremely clean. You must try it if you visit Panama in the summer. The best option for hot days.

A quick tip: The Casco Viejo district is home to several of the city’s hottest eateries. Along the Amador Causeway, You’ll also discover a variety of excellent restaurants, the local stalls are also a good option!

National Theatre: My next stop was the National Theatre, which I reached after a four-minute bus journey from the museum. The National Theatre of Panama was next to. San Francisco Church and Plaza Bolivar in Casco Viejo. It was located within a cross-shaped building. The theatre, created by Genaro Ruggieri, an Italian architect in the manner of an Italian operetta theatre, had an Italian flair and a distinct ambience from the Canal Museum, which was more French. The interiors of the building were incredibly luxurious, with glistening glass chandeliers, gold-painted balconies, and stunning ceiling paintings. The theatre was once a prominent cultural centre where plays, operas, and ballets were performed. The ceiling paintings were a work of Roberto Lewis, a well-known Panamanian artist, which depicted Panamanian history in the guise of Greek mythology. His work was remarkable.

It was time for dinner so I stopped In a cafe called Madero. I got a “Filete Madero” as the main course, which was wonderfully prepared and delicious but overpriced. One thing I noticed was that the majority of Panamanian cafes were pricey. If you want to save money, I recommend eating street food, which is both tasty and inexpensive.

Mercado de Mariscos: On the second day, I chose to go to a fish market called Mercado de Mariscos.It took 8 minutes to get to Mercado de Mariscos from Casco Viejo. Normally, the fish market is highly packed and noisy. Every merchant wants you to purchase something from him. The market is divided into two main sections: a fish market where you can pick your fresh catch for cooking, and a food court with hundreds of food kiosks selling seafood, rice, plantains and other products. They have all sorts of kinds of seafood; lobsters, squids, shrimps and fish fresh from the sea. In Mercado de Mariscos, You can buy directly from restaurants or choose your fish to cook. If you eat at a restaurant nearby, you can watch the boats arrive and go while still getting a sense of the seaside. I decided to dine at the market and order from the menu, which was quite pricey. Disclaimer: I’m not very good at negotiating.

Photo by @Francisco Rioseco on Unsplash

A quick tip: The best fish is served first thing in the morning. If you’re a fish enthusiast, get there first thing in the morning.

The Panama Canal or Miraflores Locks: How come you didn’t see the awe-inspiring Panama Canal when you were in Panama? It’s like visiting Paris without seeing the Eiffel Tower. So the Panama canal was undoubtedly my fourth and final stop. This incredibly massive 50-mile-long man-made waterway connects the Pacific and Atlantic oceans. It was a massive engineering project, possibly the most complicated one ever attempted. Speaking about its structure, the canal has a width of 110 feet, a length of 1,000 feet, and a thickness of three feet. The gates weigh 700 tonnes and they open and close in about 5–10 minutes, allowing the ship to enter or exit.

Photo by @Andrea Leopardi on unsplash

You may also take a boat ride around the canal and attend a movie at the Miraflores Visitor Center, which provides excellent information about the canal’s history and engineering. Pretty beneficial for engineers or those with an interest in the field.

The Atlantic & Pacific Co. Restaurant, located on the second level of the Miraflores building, was one of the most intriguing aspects of the Panama Canal and the one that drew me in most. The restaurant has a good reputation, however, it is a tad pricey for its prime location. The atmosphere and feel of the restaurant were well worth the money. The views and scenes from the restaurants were priceless and you may dine while watching ships pass by. As for the It, the menu features mostly local cuisine, like seafood with a few international dishes thrown in for good measure.

A quick tip: Don’t forget to buy a joint ticket which gives you entrance to the viewing areas, the museum, and the film about the history of the canal.

I quickly returned to my hotel after my trip to the Panama Canal, picked up my luggage, and took a taxi to the airport. Well, I couldn’t travel to many sites due to a lack of time, and I’m sure I missed a lot of important sites, but my two days in Panama were packed with joy, new experiences, kind locals, and a lot of learning. I got a glimpse into Panama City’s civilizations, learned about amazing technical marvels, and much much more. On my way to the airport. I zipped open the tiny pocket of my handbag, took out the key chain I had purchased from a local stall, and attached it to my handbag. I took one last look at the city through the window of my taxi, and I knew I’d remember it for the skyscrapers that reminded me of Manhattan and the Casco Viejo that took me back to Old Europe.

--

--