Do You Ever Do Something Monumentally Stupid and Then Boom, Life is Even Better Afterwards?

Norell Hōshin Leung
3 min readApr 20, 2018

I was on my way to a tattoo consultation in North Boulder. Driving there, I was really happy, spaced the hell out, lost in wonder and epiphanies, and most definitely on autopilot.

Like a complete asshole, I parked my car right in front of an open auto garage, blocking their entry. I went upstairs and had my mind blown. (My tattoo artist and I go deep every time we meet.) When I returned, my car had been moved and parked in the actual parking spot that I should have parked in. Stuck on my steering wheel (because I leave my windows permanently down — it only rains like twice a year in Boulder) was a note written in thick black magic marker, highlighted in yellow that said:

“Only RUDE, CHILDISH, self centered CHILDREN park their car in front of a working auto garage!!! PAY ATTENTION doper!!!!”

This isn’t the actual note, but a close reproduction of it, sans blinding yellow highlighter.

I got to feel like the scum that I was, but the odd thing is the feeling only lasted for about the time it took for them to write that note, which was probably less than a minute. I assure you, it’s not because I’m some kind of sociopath, incapable of empathy. With its huge, scrawled…

--

--

Norell Hōshin Leung

The final and strongest order felt in the world today is the illusion of masculine being separate from feminine.