吉原徳章
2 min readAug 31, 2019

My trip to Kanazawa

My hobby is to travel around Japan, my home country. Because I was born and raised in Tokyo, it is interesting for me to go outside of Japan. Fortunately, I have summer and winter vacation every year. But I don’t have enough money, so I always try to use only local train to reduce cost. It takes much longer time than using airplanes or express trains, but it’s comfortable for me. This month, I went to Kanazawa. Kanazawa is in the center of Japan (Tokyo is in the east of Japan). I used 5-day free ticket and midnight express train, it cost less than $130. Before I came to Kanazawa, I went to Tojinbou, Tojinbou is the most famous cliff in Japan. It’s on the south side of Kanazawa. I really enjoyed walking on and climbing the cliff, but it was too hot to stay outside for 1 hour. I wish I had been there in different season!

After that, I went to Kanazawa. The purpose of visiting Kanazawa is to go to one laboratory in Kanazawa University. I study biology and I have raised A Slime Mold, one kind of bacterium. I’m so interested in characteristics of a slime mold, so I wanted to visit the researcher of it, and to see what they were doing. I couldn’t tell you about the laboratory in detail, but it was a good experience for me. After my visit, I went to Kenroku-en, one of the most beautiful gardens in Japan. It took only $3, and I enjoyed walking around the place, and took a lot of pictures. However, it was also too hot, and I caught a sunburn so much. I really enjoyed the trip. There are so many places I have never visited, so my dream is to go to all prefectures in Japan. Also, I want to go abroad and contact different cultures.