Chants at gun-control protest in front of NRA convention, May 27, 2022

Noriko Manabe
2 min readJun 9, 2022

--

A large protest, estimated to be about 4,000 people, was held in front of the NRA convention in Houston on May 27, 2022—just a few days after the murder of 19 children and 2 teachers at an elementary school only 300 miles away in Uvalde, as well as mass shootings in Buffalo, NY, Laguna Woods, CA, and others.

I transcribed the chants I heard from this Reuters’ recording of the protest, as taken from the area just facing the convention center. A second version with the chants ordered by political framing can be found here.

Here are the chants in the order that they appeared, with the approximate timestamp on the video. I am presenting them as I hear them, so that protesters can look at them. I didn’t transcribe some common chants that I have transcribed elsewhere on my medium site (e.g., “Tell me what democracy looks like”), and chants are prescribed once only (unless they are altered in rhythm or pitch pattern significantly).

--

--

Noriko Manabe

Music prof. Author of The Revolution Will Not Be Televised: Protest Music After Fukushima (OUP). Editor, 33-1/3 Japan. http://www.norikomanabe.com