Adversity Fuels Success

Fatimah Hezza
4 min readJun 26, 2022

--

One of my great realizations in life is that the best of people are those who come from the most adversities. However, some people become otherwise. Why? Because how one receives and responds to difficulties will either make them bitter or better.

Photo by jcomp from freepik.com

Adversity comes in many forms, arrives at times you least expect, and hits you in multiple ways. Adversity is a great driving force that could either bring out the best or the worst in you. Ultimately, it depends on how you would receive and respond to it.

It is up to you! Either look at challenges and obstacles in life as something that will hold you back or receive them wholeheartedly and use them as leverage or a springboard to propel you forward. Whether you use it to ignite or kill the fire in you is your choice.

I have been through so much in life. Although, I would not say I had the worst because that would be an overstatement. But, in my definition, I would say I have been through the worst of times.

Going through each adversity has taught me a lot. But, over and above the lessons learned is the way each adversity has changed and molded me, for the better I believe.

But, it was not always like that. In the beginning, I would try to run away from any form of obstacle and was always afraid of facing challenges. I guess because when I was younger, I was sheltered. And like many parents who love their children, they ensure that I was provided and cared for. But then, they cannot protect us all the time.

When I finally had the real taste of life outside of my parent’s protective cocoon, I was shocked and afraid. I did not know how to face difficulties. I would run away, sulk and cry my heart out. But pain after pain and challenges after challenges, I realized I cannot cry them out or hide from them. I needed to do something different. And so I mustered all my strength and courage and faced every obstacle. I was surprised at myself.

All the hardships I have been through taught me that there will be more obstacles along my way, but each obstacle makes me braver every time. Since then, whenever I have a situation, no more sulking or drama, I say bring it on!

I also realized that learning to embrace adversities in life has something to do with having a strong support system like family and friends, but most importantly is your own support system — strong faith and belief that there is one ultimate being in control of everything and will not forsake you.

On the other hand, some young individuals are afraid of challenges because of their sheltered upbringing. It is a reality and quite understandably for parents to want their children to lead a life that is better than theirs, to not go through the difficulties they have been through, and shelter them if they can from adversities.

Yes, it hurts to see your children and your loved ones go through difficulties in life for them to learn. But, that is the best way to learn. You cannot take away adversity, and you shouldn’t because it is the significant ingredient to success and greatness.

You cannot expect a seed to germinate, have strong roots, and bear fruits without planting it. Likewise, you cannot expect someone to be great without allowing it to grow. Adversities create lessons and lessons provide an opportunity for growth. What we can do is guide them so that they embrace adversities and know how to use them to their advantage as they navigate their way in life.

Instead of shielding them (our children or loved ones) from adversities, we can instill in them positive ways of looking at adversities in life:

a. Overcoming challenges builds confidence and consequently, teaches you the mechanism to deal with things and situations when they do not go your way.

b. Learning to deal with challenges makes you resilient. And resilience gives you the strength to face future challenges

c. Everybody goes through challenges regardless of their status in life. People learn the most through difficulties, and it is the best ingredient to success. So, do not run away when you encounter one.

d. Accept that adversity is a part of life, so embrace it and use it to make you better but not bitter.

e. Adversity draws out the strength you never knew you had in you.

f. Reach out and help others, you will be surprised that you are not alone. Difficulties are easier to deal with when you find someone who shares the same experience and difficulty.

g. Always have in mind that we do not succeed in spite of our difficulties, we succeed because of them.

There is something really powerful about adversity that can shape our character and mold our behavior for the future. If you can learn to view adversity as a positive force, you will embrace every obstacle and challenge and grow better and better from overcoming them.

In the words of some of the most successful men of their time Walt Disney — “All the adversity I’ve had in my life, all my troubles and obstacles, have strengthened me. You may not realize it when it happens, but a kick in the teeth may be the best thing in the world for you” and Henry Ford — “When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it.”

Would love to hear your thoughts.

--

--

Fatimah Hezza

Teacher, foodie, & music lover. Editor of Fashion Glitter Magazine on Amazon. And I have a contagious disease called “lucky” so, follow me!