How I Quickly Got My 100 Followers

Fatimah Hezza
3 min readFeb 20, 2023

--

I got almost a hundred followers in just 2 days. So I thought to myself, that was too easy.

Photo by @rawpixel.com from freepik.com

When I started at Medium, I wanted to get 100 followers instantly so I could join the Medium Partner Program (MPP). I am quite sure that is what you want as well.

I tried to search if there are stories in Medium about how they got 100 followers. I came across some stories and they all say “follow for follow.” The idea is that you reply to comments on random stories, that you will follow back those who will follow you. In short, “follow me and I will follow you back.”

Somehow, the idea worked. I got almost a hundred followers in just 2 days. So I thought to myself, that was too easy. Then, when I tried to get into the Medium Partner Program. Boom! I was denied.

Medium have a pool of curators and they know your activity. They know when your followers and activities are authentic. Who are you kidding?

So I paused and thought, what to do next?

I stopped thinking about numbers and joining the Medium Partner Program for awhile and started writing. That is why I am here in the first place, I write.

I started writing genuine stories. Stories that some people may relate to, stories that some people may learn a thing or two or write to communicate my thoughts and feelings to random people who might come across them or hopefully be interested in my stories.

I basically wrote stories about life and human emotions, and “how to earn” stuff. Whenever I decide to write something on the latter, I want to be truthful and when I give ideas I want them to be legit. So that is what I did.

I was surprised to see my stats later. It start getting more views and getting more reads. But what is so surprising is the fact that I am getting genuine and heart-felt responses to some of my personal stories. It feels good that some people out there can relate to my experiences and even thank me for making them feel a lot better or seeing the brighter side of their situation.

I never expected to get responses that really came from the heart. As for my “how to stories”, I am just happy that they are appreciative of my ideas.

Apart from writing genuine stories, I also tried to read stories in Medium and made geuine comments, and communicate back to people who comments in my stories. Establish connection, and friendship even with fellow Medium writers.

And honestly, I may not have a huge following as of yet, but I got more when I started writing than when I was doing that lame “follow for follow” idea.

And so about this earning more followers, I wanted to share with you that the idea of “follow for follow” will indeed get you followers, but it is not a good idea. If you want to get authentic followers and get into the Medium Partner Program, you have to earn them. Like every good thing in life, they are earned with genuine intention and hard work.

YOU are in Medium because you are a writer, and A GOOD ONE. I firmly believe that. I also know that we all want to earn some from writing. That is why we are so desperate to get 100 followers, so we can get into the Medium Partner Program and start earning. YOU WILL GET THERE. You just need to do it the right way.

Be what you are here for in the first place. The good writer that you are. Start writing your stories and let the Medium world see what you have got to share.

I hope you will get more followers and you get into the Medium Partner Program SOONEST. Would love to hear from you and about your experience.

Peace.

For more ideas, check this one out as well.

--

--

Fatimah Hezza

Teacher, foodie, & music lover. Editor of Fashion Glitter Magazine on Amazon. And I have a contagious disease called “lucky” so, follow me!