Apps I installed in the first couple of days after restoring my iPhone.

Juan C Montemayor E
3 min readAug 12, 2015

I don’t know why iTunes has never been able to successfully back up my apps, so when I restored my phone to install iOS 9 all my apps were gone. This is totally fine though, since I’ve actually meant to clean up my home screen for a couple of weeks now.

Anyway, I decided to be lazy, and install apps as I needed them. So here’s a quick run-down of which apps I installed (mostly in chronological order) and what triggered me to download them:

  1. Spotify
    THE app I couldn’t live without. I use it at least twice a day during my commute, whenever I’m coding during the day, whenever I am researching or practicing repertoire, etc…
  2. Messenger
    I love this app, but it was mostly a FOMO install. For close friends I use iMessage; for family and people back home I (unwillingly) use WhatsApp; for everyone else, there’s Messenger.
  3. Reeder
    I get my tech news fix on here. My day would definitely not be the same without my dose of MacRumors and Daring Fireball.
  4. WhatsApp
    The app I dislike but have to use. I mostly talk with people from back home on there, since it is what everyone uses in Mexico. My conversations are either with individual people, or friend/family groups. Mostly chat or gossip.
  5. NPR One
    This is the first app I use every day (always followed by NYT Now). The sound of voices help me wake up, plus I get a quick update of the news while I dress in the morning. I absolutely love it.
  6. Instagram
    My primary social app. I love square images, short captions, and the fact that I do not need to follow every person that follows me (note to self: clean up your Instagram feed). This app pushes me to create beautiful videos and images. I have also been using Instagram search a LOT. It’s great to see what things I want to buy look like, how people interact with certain things, or even take a peek at cool experiences — visits to Fäviken, Leica photography, Lamborghinis…
  7. Instacast
    WHY WAS THIS DISCONTINUED!?!?!
  8. Overcast
    I needed a podcast app other than Instacast to listen to Radiolab, 99% Invisible, and Planet Money.
  9. VSCOcam
    This app has made me a better photographer. And better at editing pictures. I miss this app the most when I’m processing photos from my 70D on my computer.
  10. SKRWT
    The secret to good architecture photography on iPhone.
  11. Steady
    I needed a video I shot to be steady.
  12. Turboscan
    I can’t live without this app. I use this for any important document that is sent to me, or that I need to send out through snail mail. I just “scan” a document, and either email it or back it up on Dropbox. It works like a charm.
  13. Foursquare
    I needed to find a Wash and Fold place near my apartment.
  14. Yelp
    I needed to find more Wash and Fold places near my apartment.
  15. Bus NYC
    If you live in Manhattan and do not know the magic of the cross-town bus, you seriously need to step-up your commuting game.
  16. Uber
    Because Saturday night in Red Hook.
  17. Venmo
    Pay people back for the whiskey I bummed from them in the cash-only bar in Red Hook.
  18. Weather Line
    I look at the day’s hourly forecast when I wake up. I like the simple and intuitive presentation of this app.
  19. Dark Sky
    My best friend on rainy days. Also, you can get alerts right before it starts raining. Technology!
  20. Snapchat
    Sending silly faces to people.
  21. BofA
    To make sure my account is not overdrawn after I venmo people.
  22. Amex
    Paying bills!

Work-related apps

I obviously have alpha versions of the apps we make in the New Products team at work — NYT Now, NYT Cooking, and Crosswords.

Honorable mention

The Facebook app gets an honorable mention as the app I’ve most been wanting to install, but have not yet installed. I’m trying not to use Facebook in the weekend, and the best way to do that is to not install it on my phone.

About that unread email count

I don’t read all my email. Or check voice mail.

--

--