The Success Series Part 1 — Confessions of a Chronic Procrastinator

Ty Norwood
12 min readDec 21, 2015

I admit that I am a chronic procrastinator. If I could double italicize chronic I would, but that’s not a real thing so read chronic as really, painfully chronic. For my whole life I have always struggled to stay motivated. I have wanted to write a book for three years now but I haven’t. I one time made an outline of a book but since then have no idea where it’s gone. I have wanted to run a marathon since high school but I haven’t, at this point in my life running non-stop for 42.2 km would probably kill me. I sometimes (more frequently than I would casually admit) have debilitating bouts of depression and self-loathing over all the things I haven’t accomplished. I feel like a failure more than I actually fail, and I have always felt, until recently, that I was the only person on the whole planet going through this struggle. I felt I was somehow special in my unbelievable ability to not accomplish things. I was a real life, bizaro James Franco.

I was never a particularly good student in high school or in college. My last year of University I almost failed two courses for such poor attendance. I ended up convincing the professor to pass me out of a strange combination of mercy, pity and goodwill. My school mates and I still joke to this day about how unfit a student I was. If I wasn’t paying to be a student, I surely would have…

--

--

Ty Norwood

Entrepreneur. Investor. Traveler. I believe life should be full of passion. I believe in inspiring others through a compelling story.