How To Survive a Noisy Workplace

Jefferson Teng
2 min readMar 8, 2016

--

Three months after starting my new job, I was overwhelmed. As I’d start getting into flow, someone’s discussion or laughter would jolt me back to reality. I would desperately scour the office for a quiet corner to reset and before I knew it, the day would be over. I found I was most productive on Fridays (working at home), weekends, and weeknights.

As I started paying attention to my work environment, I realized I sat at the intersection of the two busiest hallways in the office. It turns out I’m far more sensitive to noise than I imagined.

If you’ve read this far, you’re probably a Maker who struggles to consistently chain hours of time together to create. Here are a few survival tips:

Take a snapshot of your physical surroundings at work.

This could be your kitchen table, your favorite coffee shop, or your office desk. Take a mental tour through your typical day and write down anything that demands your attention when you need it the most. Next to each item, write down an immediate and physical action you can take to remedy the issue.

Identify your “Einstein Time.”

Let’s take another tour through your work day. This time, think about when and where everything magically comes together and you produce your best work. Each day, block off as much of this time as humanly possible.

A day with three consecutive hours of focused work is far more valuable than a day randomly peppered with 30–60 minute meetings.

Ruthlessly protect these blocks of time.

Find places in or out of the office where you can escape from texts, email, Slack notifications, and ad-hoc discussions. These are not bad things, but they’re not generating much value for your time when you need to write, draw, or code.

Communicate your status to your manager and team. Some companies use a simple system with headphones:

  • If your coworker doesn’t have his headphones on, it’s probably okay to ask a question or start a discussion.
  • If your coworker has her headphones on, this is the most important time of her work day, and you’d better have a good reason to interrupt her.

Take care of your mind and body.

I keep a gratitude wall of post-its with small things I’m thankful for. This simple practice keeps me energized and optimistic. As I continue this practice, I notice I’m often incredibly thankful for all the people who have helped me along the way. When I get to work, I’ve got a big smile on my face and I’m ready for anything.

None of this works if you’re hungry and tired though. You probably haven’t heard this before, but get a good night’s rest, drink lots of water, and eat your fruits and vegetables.

Feedback and comments are greatly welcomed and appreciated. Thank you so much for reading :D

--

--