There’s a time and place for everything.

Jefferson Teng
2 min readJan 21, 2016

--

In middle school, I was told the only important thing was to attend my county’s high school STEM magnet program.

In high school, I was told the only important thing was to enroll in one of America’s top universities.

In university, I was told that if I were serious about my career, I’d work at “big name” software companies like Google, Facebook, Apple, or Microsoft.

In my first job, I was told that if I were really really serious about my career, I’d move to the Valley and work for a breakout/rocket-ship startup.

No one I looked to for advice at work or on the internet ever told me how important it was to take care of my body and mental health. All I was told was to take ownership and deliver results. Not a single duck was given about anything else.

And I get it. Shipping features that grab more users and generate more revenue is a software company’s purpose. When managers’ tails are on the line, the pressure trickles down and there’s no time to care.

There will always be a next step and there’s a time and place for hurtling toward your career dreams and goals. But don’t forget that today’s you is enough. When you’re overworked and overwhelmed, never feel bad for taking a break. Put your goals on the side, eat well, sleep well, and take care of yourself and your loved ones. I guarantee that will be more rewarding than killing yourself at work and getting that promotion that should’ve come years ago.

If your goals are honest and sincere, your drive will return soon enough. And this time, you’ll come with everything you got.

--

--