Blaire White; Detransitioning, Regret & Going back

Gemma Stone
8 min readJan 8, 2018

A recent video by huge trans YouTuber Blaire White has recently dropped and its pretty bad, I’m not going to sugarcoat it. It’s essentially just scaremongering about something most people within the trans community are both aware of, and something which is often used to gaslight us into believing we’re not legitimate or really trans. Which can have devastating effects on trans people’s mental health.

In my personal experience of this, I recall looking up my problems online when I was 14. Finding out that it was probably gender dysphoria and then after psyching myself up to go talk to a doctor and get my issues fixed? I bitched out hard. I got scared, all the usual thoughts were going through my head — “what if I’m just confused?” “how can this be real?” “its probably because I have other problems and I’m looking for an outlet”. Then when I got to 20 and tried again, I remember telling my self “you’ll regret this, you’re not really trans, you’re just depressed”.

This whole narrative is built by design to make less people want to transition. Because being trans is not favourable at all in our society. We’re a problem, that needs to be swept under the rug rather than just accepted as part of our world. But sweeping us away doesn’t work, dysphoria sucks and the best and only known way to treat it is transition where its severe enough to…

--

--

Gemma Stone

Transgender journalist. All of my writing is available for free @ TransWrites.World.