If I am a human translator, I am better than A.I.

Nothing beats the human touch!

Not Just a Human Translator
2 min readJun 7, 2024

If I am a human translator, I am better than A.I.

Last month, I made the decision to resign from my full-time job and pursue translation as a full-time career. After careful consideration, I realized that the fulfillment and opportunities I find in translation far outweighed the 8-hour-long session of ass-kissing my boss. The payment I am receiving from my sideline job is way higher than my salary. But it’s not just about the money, it’s about the passion, the heart.

And that is authentic.

Days after submitting my resignation, my manager sent a message to our chat group. These were not the exact words but it was something like,

“AI will replace human translators.”

This struck a chord with me because my manager was aware of my sideline job as a translator.

How much do we value authenticity? How long will it take for A.I. to learn that it is not human? Would you rather read a book that sounds robotic or one that touches your heart?

Don’t get me wrong… A.I. has a lot of potential, and it certainly makes our work more productive. But it lacks the heart to be authentic. It’s not like me.

Human translators understand the consequences of making mistranslations. I translate medical documents for an insurance company. I am aware that mistranslating a term could have a significant impact on someone’s life.

Translators are scared to lose their job because of this progress in our industry. But translation is about connecting people, and people would crave genuineness that DeepL or ChatGPT cannot give.

--

--

Not Just a Human Translator
0 Followers

On a mission to shatter language barriers and remind everyone that when it comes to translation, nothing beats the human touch!