This is Module 2

Mark Miranda
2 min readMar 23, 2016

--

I’m 2 days in to the second module.

This one is said to be less intense than its predecessor. My thought is that it will be just as busy as Module 1, but not as intense. The concepts are much more familiar, I have a solid base of programming stuff. I know people, I’m not afraid of being thought of as a weirdo in a new place. I’m no longer a freshman.

Yeah, I said it.

A group of students in my cohort were having a conversation yesterday about how it felt to be in module 2. The biggest sentiment I agree with is that it feels what the first day of sophomore year must have felt like (I’m way to old to actually remember what the first day for sophomore year felt like).

The main focus of this module (from my 2 days of experience in it) is taking the abstract Ruby code we’ve learned in Module 1 and turning it into something real, something you can put your hands on, something you can show your friends and family without opening a command line and expecting them not to look like you’re crazy.

Curriculum-wise, the focus is 2 weeks of Sinatra and 4 weeks of Rails. So far we’ve been diving into HTML, CSS (+ bootstrap), and the very basics of Sinatra.

Here’s part my robot world website. It still needs work, but it’s getting there.

Related

Originally published at markmiranda.ninja on March 23, 2016.

--

--

Mark Miranda

Software Engineer @ Test Double, Alumni from the Turing School of Software and Design