i say the words i wish to hear

remi ;༊
2 min readJun 3, 2024

--

Mirrored Mind (2005)

“Look at you, comforting others with the words you wish to hear.”

Sometimes it amazes me how I can give advice to someone even without experiencing their situation. I find myself speaking words of comfort and offering solutions and support. It’s strange how easily these words come to me, as if I have rehearsed them many times in my mind.

When I talk to someone going through a tough time, I hear myself saying things I wish someone had said to me. I tell them to stay strong, to keep going, that I am proud of them, and that things will get better. These are the words I need to hear when I face my own challenges.

I often realize that the advice I give is exactly what I need to follow myself. It’s almost as if by saying these words out loud, I am trying to convince myself to believe them. Encouraging others makes me feel like I am capable of handling my own problems.

I notice that when I am giving advice to others, I feel a sense of clarity. The worries that cloud my own mind seem to lift when I focus on someone else’s needs. It’s a reminder that we all need to hear positive words and that sometimes, we have to be the ones to say them, even if it’s just to ourselves.

Listening to others and offering advice helps me see my own life from a different perspective. I begin to understand that the strength and hope I give to others also lie within me. It’s as though by helping them, I am helping myself to grow and heal.

Often, I think about why it’s so easy to give advice to others and so difficult to apply the same advice to my own life. Perhaps it’s because we are often our own worst critics. We are quick to doubt ourselves while believing in others.

These moments teach me that everyone is struggling in their own way, and we all have the power to lift each other up. The words I share are not just for others; they are also for me. They remind me that I am not alone, that I am strong, and that I can overcome my difficulties just as I encourage others to do.

The advice I give is a reflection of my deepest hopes and desires. It’s a way of connecting with others and with myself, a way of finding strength and comfort in shared experiences.

And so, I continue to say the words I wish to hear. I know that these words hold the power to heal and inspire, both others and myself.

--

--