we never have to force love

remi ;༊
2 min readJun 15, 2024

--

While You Were Sleeping (2017)

Having someone who loves me can sometimes feel like a lot of pressure. I often feel like I have to return their feelings in the same way. It’s overwhelming when someone has strong feelings for me, and I don’t feel the same.

One of my biggest worries is hurting them. I think about how they will feel if I can’t love them back. It’s natural for me to worry about causing pain to someone who cares about me so much. I don’t want to break their heart or make them sad.

There’s also this sense of guilt that I can’t shake. I feel guilty because they are giving me so much love, and I can’t give it back. This guilt weighs heavily on me. It’s hard to see them put so much effort for me when I don’t feel the same.

Rejecting someone who has clear intentions towards me is also painful. It means carrying the guilt of knowing I’ve hurt someone who was open about their feelings. I worry about what will happen to our friendship if I can’t reciprocate their love. Will it change things between us? Will it make things awkward or uncomfortable?

Sometimes, I feel confused about my own feelings. The pressure to reciprocate can make me question whether I should feel something more. I start doubting myself, wondering if there’s something wrong with me for not feeling the same way.

I remind myself that I can’t force feelings. Love isn’t something that can be controlled or forced. If I don’t feel the same way, it’s not my fault. I can’t love them just because they love me, and they can’t love me just because I love them. Everyone experiences emotions differently, and sometimes they just don’t match up.

I know that communicating honestly is important. It might be tough, but having an open and honest conversation with them is the best approach. I need to let them know how I feel in a kind and gentle way. It’s better for both of us to understand where we stand rather than pretending or forcing feelings.

We never have to force love. Love doesn’t need pushing; it finds its way naturally. It’s like a river that flows freely. Trying to force love is like trying to control the uncontrollable — it simply doesn’t work.

In the end, I realize it’s about respecting both my feelings and theirs. I deserve to feel comfortable and true to myself, and they deserve to know the truth. While it might be painful at first, it is what we need and will serve as closure for us to move forward.

--

--