i lost my voice as the only thing i learned while growing up is to stay silent

remi ;༊
2 min readMay 14, 2024

--

My Liberation Notes (2022)

Growing up, I found myself trapped by the weight of silence. I learned from an early age that speaking my mind was often seen as disrespectful. In my world, speaking out was met with disapproval, so I kept my thoughts to myself, fearing what others would say. Consequently, I lost my voice, hidden beneath layers of silence and self-doubt.

From childhood, I absorbed the unspoken rule that speaking up was synonymous with rebellion — especially at home. I learned to suppress my thoughts and feelings, fearing rejection or punishment if I dared to express myself. This silence became my shield, protecting me from the discomfort of confrontation. In silence, I am safe.

As I grew older, the silence only grew louder. I watched as others confidently voiced their opinions and asserted themselves while I remained on the sidelines, afraid to draw attention to myself. The fear of judgment and rejection kept me firmly rooted in silence and invisible in a world that seemed to value only those who spoke up.

But the consequences of my silence were profound. I struggled to form meaningful connections. I am trapped in a cycle of passivity and insecurity. Opportunities passed me by, as I lacked the confidence to pursue my dreams. Silence became a barrier to my own growth and happiness.

It hinders me to let my emotions out. I’m not very good at telling people how I feel. I’m used to keeping it to myself. Even when I’m hurting, I remain silent.

Nobody will even dare to listen to me, so I just don’t talk.

That’s when I realized that the loudest scream is the one that remains unheard. What’s seen or heard doesn’t always show the whole picture of someone’s struggles; the most intense pain can be kept hidden silently, where silence speaks the loudest.

It’s unfortunate — I mastered the art of being silent even when there’s a lot to be said.

--

--